We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Golden Tiffin

Golden Tiffin
Ranked #561 of 2,749 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Three of us were craving the mouth-watering tastes of Indian cuisine last week, and we found ourselves at this small, unassuming restaurant nearly hidden in a quiet strip mall next to the Best Western in Bell's Corners. If it weren't for a friend's recommendation, we would surely have passed it by and we are so glad we didn't. The owner helped us choose a selection of dishes to our tastes. The naan was outstanding, and the other dishes were perfectly flavored as well. Golden Tiffin, you are now on our radar!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“fantastic new indian/pakistani restaurant”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went on Thanksgiving as we're veg and don't eat turkey and we were pleasantly surprised - we've been back a few times since and will keep going - the dosas are amazing and veg biryani is best I have ever tasted. Food is very fresh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and attentive service”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I decided to try out this new place for dinner. We started with the Mulligatawny soup which was excellent although quite spicy. We ordered Chicken Korma and Vegetable Curry. Naan bread and rice was included. We had more than enough food to eat and even brought some of it home. Despite being full, I twisted my wife's arm to share rice pudding for dessert, which was also very good.

It could use some more decorations -- I assume they haven't had time to do this as it has only been open a short time. It was not very busy the night we visited, but it was after all the day after Thanksgiving.

It is a family business. The service was good - the owner/cook told us something about how they make the soup and made sure we had everything we needed.

In all, I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffTranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food yet inexpensive”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We (2 people) stopped in for a late lunch yesterday and had a great experience. The restaurant is new however the owner/chef has worked at many of Ottawa's Indian restaurants including Rose's, Haveli and Ishina. He deserves his own place so his culinary work can shine...and it did! Excellent, fresh, light samosas, airy naan (not the chewy, gummy variety) and a perfect paneer dish and a beef vindaloo with basmati rice were delicious They are not licensed yet but working on it. The owner's son is helping him out with seating and serving and he is a wonderful young gentleman - nice that he's helping out his Dad! The owner/chef came to our table a couple of times to ensure we were pleased with our dishes. We were! They offer takeout as well. We will be back! $30 total bill. BTW, patio will be open Spring 2014.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianSunLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food reasonable price”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Saw this new Pakistani/Indian restaurant in Bells Corners two weeks ago right after they opened and went for a visit on a Friday evening just after 6:00. We were the only people in the place for most of our meal which was a little uncomfortable but apparently they are busy at lunch.

Let me say first off that I have never eastern Pakistani food before so I have no comparison but it was delicious. We eat Indian food a lot and it was similar. Not too spicy and more meat choices than Indian usually has. We ordered our food medium spicy which for Indian is usually pretty hot but hubby did not find it spicy enough.

We ordered a lot of food including soup, two appetizers and two main dishes and the bill was only $38. They do not have a liquor license so the beverage choices are coke in a bottle or water.

The only very minor complaint I would have is that the waitress was not super personable. She brought our food quickly and cleared away our dishes but was not really interested in any conversation or suggestions as to what was good. I have a feeling she was just very shy. The owner/cook was friendly and helpful but he stayed in the kitchen most of the time.

If you are a fan of Indian food and want something a little different give this place a try. We will be back again. Hope business picks up for them. The mall where they are located is a bit hard to see. It is right beside Baron's Motor lodge on the left if you are going west towards Kanata

Helpful?
Thank Stewartsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Tiffin also viewed

 

Been to Golden Tiffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing