We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel, close to buses, great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Ottawa Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New hotel, close to buses, great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Everything was easy and as it should be.

Rooms came with complimentary microwave popcorn, kitchenette with full fridge, etc.

The pool and hot tub were great. Everywhere in the hotel was spotless and the staff were extremely kind.

The breakfast was perfect— so much to choose from. Every breakfast food you could think of was there...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that perhaps doesn't have a joining door to another room (as we received a noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOttawa, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Mary J Thank you for staying at Residence Inn Airport and for sharing your experience with us we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the breakfast selection and you liked the pool and the service you received . We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    73
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
103
48
16
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Residence Inn Ottawa Airport is a three stars property only on paper while in reality comfortably providing a four stars hotel experience.

Two key positive of this hotel are service and the room itself. On the service side, it seems that each staff I've encountered do what's above and beyond to ensure your need is met. On our day one we needed breakfast at 5AM even before the cooks arrived, the front desk staff (Jason) prepared us breakfast in a bag for our day trip. Despite being a little understaffed for a very busy weekend - the front desks staff even help with breakfast service.

On the room side - we were equally impressed. Room was spotless and was quiet large to be honest. The room is amply supplied with cooking/eating utensils, extra towels, bedding / pillows. In all it was comfortable and definitely could see myself staying there long term.

The minor downside of this hotel would be the HVAC unit in our room was a little on the noisy side (but does not prevent a good night sleep) and that breakfast buffet room was too small for a busy weekend. The hotel should attempt to create more buffet islands on the larger room so traffic flow can be managed better. Also, additional tables inside the hotel for breakfast or umbrella on the patio would go a long way.

Definitely will return to this property when staying in Ottawa. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ethelstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOttawa, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Ethelstan thank You so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Residence Inn Ottawa Airport. I hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back in back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorel-Tracy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a very nice place to stop when travelling with families as I found it a bit expansive for 1 night - 2 persons. The place is very clean and well aired. Every room has a complete kitchen which could be very nice with children. The service is super although I found the check in is a bit late 4h.

Room Tip: This is a very nice place to stop when travelling with families as I found it a bit expansive for 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzel8305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Got very good service! The rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfortable! we stayed there one night during the cold snap (it was -40) and we were very comfortable. It is a new hotel so everything looks nice. Very good location, not too close to downtown (so less noise) but not too far either.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel over Easter weekend. We read the reviews and decided to give it a try. Location was great for us (close to everything) and the free parking was a nice touch. Here are my comments in "pro" and "con" format:

Pros

- Staff is amazing. Very friendly and professional. Everyone from housekeeping, to food prep to the front desk. Nothing is too much trouble
- Breakfast buffet was fabulous. Waffle machine, lots of fruit, juice and cereal...A+
- Room was nice size and super clean. Full size fridge too. Nice to have a full sofa too
- Shoppers Drug Mart just across the street was helpful
- New hotel so everything looked nice and clean
- We were placed in a quiet area of the hotel which we appreciaed (no kids running up and down the halls)

Cons

- not a major one, but for some reason there was no hand towel hook in the bathroom so you had to throw your hand towel on the counter every time you used it
- and here's the biggie for us: we were under the impression that this was a business hotel so the amount of families and kids would be minimal. Boy were we disappointed. The second morning of our stay we went down to the breakfast buffet hoping for a fairly relaxing breakfast. NOT!!! There were kids running everywhere, yelling...crawling on the floor...falling off the chairs...horrible!!! Perhaps the hotel could find a way to separate families from couples who just want a peaceful breakfast (we noticed an enclosed separate room next to the lobby...maybe they could make this an adult only area).

In all fairness to the hotel (and we brought this up at check out time), the front desk person said the hotel isn't usually packed with kids. Maybe it was because it was Easter weekend that there were so many families. Regardless, this was still a major negative for us and we would be concerned about using this hotel again - at least on a busy weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was facing Walkley and quite quiet. Based on my comments above, if you want peace and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skategeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 25 nights for month-long training. Nice new hotel, good service, standard breakfast. Nice pool. Clean room. Highly reccomended. Thry cater to long term stays, not single nights.
Excellent Hotel!

Only 2 complaints:
1. it was winter and the heating system had some sort of tube system outside my window and it made popping sounds constantly. Not enough to keep you awake, but enough to be noticeable once and a while.
2. I stayed for 25 nights and only earned 13000 points on the rewards program, not even enough for one free night in the very hotel I stayed. Its 25000 points for one night there. You'd think I'd get at least one night. 1 for 25?

Aside from that, if you're thinking of booking for long term. Excellent choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank leblanc0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

There were a group of 10 of us that stayed at this property April 09-11 to attend a family funeral. The service we received from everyone from housekeeping, to the front desk, to the shuttle driver ,to the kitchen to the sales team was top notch. I have spent over 30 years in the travel/customer service industry and have not run across a higher level of service than what we received at this property. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms were spotless and everyone was friendly and helpful. A huge thank you to Jocelyn who made our reservations, Erika who made last minute hair appointments, as well as Roger and Sonny on the front desk, Rolando the shuttle driver, Lee for the Sales Manager and most importantly Annu the General Manager who went out of her way to make sure that all of our needs were met at this difficult time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ottawa . It is truly top notch! Members of my family are returning to the Ottawa area next month and will definitely stay here if it is available

Room Tip: The majority of our rooms were on the west side of the 4th floor and were excellent. They were larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marganne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Airport

Property: Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
Address: 1172-1172 Walkley Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 2P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing