We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and friendly place”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Moxie's Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Moxie's Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #979 of 2,765 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Moxie's Grill & Bar, East Ottawa's best casual dining restaurant near Empire Theatre. Featuring a family-friendly food menu, drink features and patio. Open late.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good and friendly place”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Very good menu, a bit pricy but very tasty, original menu. We had chicken, Thai style, that you wrap yourself with lettuce, chicken chipotle, and BBQ ribs, all very good, with a friendly service and nice atmosphere. Would strongly recommend. Double mojitos are good too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raphael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Based on our first visit there and an enjoyable one at that, we decided to return again. Our meals were the 'haddock' dish and the New York steak. Although the steak was cooked as requested, it lacked the exterior charcoal flavour and was somewhat dry. Served warm rather than hot did not help. The haddock dish was primarily a large serving of rice with a small piece of fish sitting on top. They offered a few choices for the second side dish and that was good. The server was pleasant and we did not want to express our disappointment with her. Considering the price of the meals, it was only so-so.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank db1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a nice outing with my husband at the Moxie's in Orleans. I had the chipotle mango chicken, which was very good. The chicken was juicy and tender, and it was served with roasted brussels sprouts, very tasty! My husband ordered the top sirloin with lobster butter, which didn't turn out to be his favourite thing (mostly because it ended up being too rare for his tastes) but still good. We'll go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Three meals here over the past two months, all excellent!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had lunch here in November, dinner with my husband in December, and dinner with our neighbors last night. I think this has to be the best restaurant in the Orleans area of Ottawa. Our meals were excellent- in my visits, I've had the braised short rib stuffed burger, penne toscana, and top sirloin with prawn lobster butter. All were delicious. For starters, both the nachos and the brushetta are delicious. The chocolate cake is divine- be prepared to share it with your table mates. My dining companions also had other steaks and the salmon- good ratings all around!! This restaurant was a real surprise and I look forward to having more meals here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gamelanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Out”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

After a successful meeting a group of us had a late lunch. Very clean modern facilities discrete professional wait staff and very reasonably priced food. I would imagine this place crowds out later in the day

Would return again based on my experience

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moxie's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing