We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant location for a few beers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Brewers

3 Brewers
Ranked #270 of 2,713 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, American, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant is situated on the corner of Sparks and Bank Street, and has the advantage of being centrally located in the city. Ottawa is revered as not only our homeland`s capital but also as a historic city. At the end of the 1800s, Sparks Street became the focal point of Ottawa and its heritage was the talk of the town. The Parliament and Rideau Canal are also only two steps away.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“Pleasant location for a few beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

I've been here twice in the past few weeks and on both occasions was impressed by the reasonably priced beers and the excellent light meals on offer. The service is also good, whether you're inside in the large pleasant room or outside on the patio. Noise is not a problem, regardless of where you're sitting or how full it is.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    140
    88
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, nice atmosphere, so-so food and drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

I've stayed at the Ottawa Marriott a few times and have loved the shopping on Bank and Sparks Streets. Unfortunately, after about 7 pm, most of the small eateries seem to close up and it can be tough to find a nice hangout for food and drink in that area. This place now has that covered. Located on the corner of both streets, across from McDonalds, and on the end cap of a big underground shopping mall (that closes by 5 or 6pm), it is well suited for a bite to eat a nice drink.

The big plate glass window showcase the brewing equipment and there is a huge patio out front. Inside there is plenty of room. Loud music (when we were in, it was 80s music), big TV screens (sports), and a nice crowd filled the place on the Tuesday night we stopped in. We ordered from the decently priced menu and enjoyed decent service. I had a burger and fries (burger was a bit dry) and the wife had the fish and chips (fish had clearly been frozen for some time). I sampled on of their IPA beers made in the premises ($4 for a pint on Tuesdays) - nothing to write home about, but it was cold, wet, and beery.

Overall, service and prices were good. The food and beer were average. The environment and atmosphere very nice in an area where much of the other other interesting places are dead. I'd come again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Food was really good. Highly recommend their flatbread pizza specialty dishes. Everyone who had it, loved it.

Service wasn't great and food came out slow, but it was quite busy at the time. Nice selection of craft beers to help with the patience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rye13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Meh...and you better not be in a hurry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This location is packed at lunchtime so reservations are a must for even a small group. The open layout of the place, while attractive, makes it so that the sounds reverberates terribly making conversations with even your nearest tablemates a challenge. I ordered their "blonde" beer and thought that it was fine (note: I am not a beer connoisseur). The Moulin Rouge Flammekueche (flat bread pizza with spicy steak, sautéed mushrooms and Gruyère cheese) was passable. The portion was generous but the crust was soggy which detracted from the good toppings.

When you cater largely to an office lunch crowd, speedy service is key. In our case, it took 1+hour for our food to arrive which is inexcusable. The problem didn't appear to be with our waitress but rather with the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OttawaMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The menu had many items crossed off. The waitress was slow, and we often felt ignored. Once our dinners arrived, the food was at the right temperature and tasted good. The overall price was reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LORI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Brewers also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to 3 Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing