We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant in Ottawa hands down - and without the attitude”

Supply and Demand Foods & Raw Bar
Ranked #47 of 2,738 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Ottawa hands down - and without the attitude”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

There is absolutely nothing negative about this restaurant. It's hip, yet very cozy. Service is wonderful and food is always cooked to perfection. Also, best beer around - order the local IPA in the oversized stubby bottles. Yes, menu is limited - duh, this is a sign of a great restaurant. Instead of trying to do everything half-assed, the chef prepares a few items without flaw.

It's a little pricey, but compared to its competition, is worth every penny. Vegetarians stay away - the food is rich and heavy on the animal products, yummm.....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yarkuna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    48
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We love everything that we ordered. Kale salad was excellent as was the pasta. The service was pleasant and attentive. Menu was somewhat limited, but reasonably priced for the quality of food. It may not be for everyone, check out the menu online first.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gtgciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had heard good things about Supply & Demand so were very disappointed with our recent experience. A very limited menu...3 items but 1 was sold out, so the choice was either mackeral or pasta. The wine service was slow, our starters came at the same time as our mains, & the place was so loud we 4 had to shout at each other to be heard. The food was tasty, but it was over priced for what we had. None of us are interested in returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank greenlake08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A disappointing dinner experience”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had an occasion to go out for dinner at Supply & Demand this past week, and I can honestly say that I have no idea what all the fuss is about.

Upon being seated we were immediately struck with how dimly lit the restaurant was. Only the raised tables near the window had the benefit of candles with the rest of the room relying on the dimmed ceiling lights. I actually had trouble reading the menu, and my eyes are not that old. We also quickly realized just how noisy the place was. I guess that the single open room with it's hard tiled floor reflects sound very well. Holding a conversation at the table was difficult.

The menu is very short, offering just 5 main course options, and a few salads and "small plates". We ordered the kale salad and charred Brussels sprouts, which were both well received, albeit quite simple dishes. For our mains we selected the barbecued chicken with octopus, and the mackerel, and this is where things got strange again. The chicken was a simple chicken thigh, and the octopus may have been barbecued, but it arrived quite burnt. It was a good-sized portion all sitting on a bed of rye berries. And if you're curious, while tender inside, yes, the octopus did indeed taste like chicken. The mackerel dish included a single fillet of fish - the smallest I have ever had at a restaurant. Atop the mackerel was an artfully arranged line of salad shrimp and tiny vegetables in a vinegary dressing, not unlike ceviche. But the amount of food on this plate was about one third of what was on the chicken plate. I find this very odd as I expect most restaurant mains to deliver a roughly equal amount of food.

Kudos to the restaurant for stocking only craft beers - you won't find a Molson, Labatt or Budweiser anywhere in sight - however they only carry one offering on tap from each major craft beer category. There was but one blonde ale, one India pale ale, one stout, one wheat beer, one fruit beer, etc. And with craft beer makers these days trying to stand out from the crowd, they tend to be over-the-top in seeking uniqueness - very bitter, too hoppy, overly wheaty, etc. So if you don't like the particular offering in your favourite category, you're out of luck. There are no safe or comfortable alternatives to fall back on.

There's always the wine menu, of course, but with the least expensive bottle of wine at $40, the markup must be 3 times or more here. Ouch.

The service was very good and our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, but this did not make up for a very disappointing overall experience.

In summary, I found Supply & Demand to be too dark, too loud, with a too limited menu and drastically unequal portion sizes. In a word: Mediocre.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jman1234568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A memorable meal in a dimly lit place”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The short menu is not a problem at all; there is something there for everyone. The food is absolutely beyond reproach and is served by friendly (but not obtrusive) and oh-so knowledgeable staff. A memorable meal. One very small quibble, the owners seem to have forgotten that we also eat with our eyes. The place is so dimly lit that we had to use our phones to be able to read the menu and I was at time unable to visually tell apart elements of my plate.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OttawaMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Supply and Demand Foods & Raw Bar also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Supply and Demand Foods & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing