We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good Vietnamesei food”
Review of Benji's Vietnamese Cuisine - CLOSED

Benji's Vietnamese Cuisine
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good Vietnamesei food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Living in the west end of Ottawa, you sometimes kick yourself for giving up living next to the 25 pho places that seem to be in walking distance from any point in Centretown. Thankfully over the last few years, the explosion of Vietnamese food has spread out to the 'burbs. At first glance, Benji's doesn't fit the mould of a typical Vietnamese Pho restaurant (I guess they took a page out of some of the nicer Thai restaurants). The decor is extremely sophisticated and more fine-dining esque. Same with the presentation of the rice paper rolls-which were also extremely well done-but dressed up in a way that made us feel that we should be paying a lot more than the $5 price on the menu. The peanut sauce was also a lot thinner then the thick slurry that we're used to-but it was a whole lot better than your typical peanut sludge.

The pho-well, I have to say that's definetely one of my top 5 broths I've ever tasted for beef pho. Service was also quick, efficient and polite-though we went at 5:15pm on a Tuesday and it wasn't too busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had the chicken and shrimp with peanut sauce for lunch the other day, and it was really good! Started with a small bowl of the shrimp tom yum soup, and it was delicious! Will definitely be going here more often. Looks like a really varied menu with lots of neat options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MegK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Very solid”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We first visited thanks to Groupon and have been back a few times now. The menu is Thai "fusion" with some standard dishes you would see at a cantonese restaurant. The food is always good , flavourful and fresh and the value on the specials is outstanding. Service is always friendly. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snikt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good casual dining experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on reviews given by previous customers and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the decor and layout was very good. The menu included Thai and Chinese cuisine options. We enjoyed prompt service and enjoyed our appetizer, main course and dessert choices. Based on our experience, we would likely go back to Benji's Restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zbar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Solid 3”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We live in the area and decided we’d try it.

We went on a Saturday around 8pm and although it was not super busy they had several tables seated - good sign.

The decor - as mentioned, is modern and the restaurant itself is clean, etc. We, however, did suffer from the dreaded Wobbly Table Syndrome (and it was an unusually height) and the chairs have the very odd upholstery choice of indigo blue velvet - this will not age well.

We had the following:
* Shrimp Dumplings with Peanut Sauce - Tasty; would have been better if it was a bit warmer.
* Calamari with Ginger Fish Sauce - the squid was rubbery and the coating was ordinary - possibly fried from frozen
* Rare beef Pho: Very nice - I ordered the Medium and there was A LOT left over - they should provide a Small choice.
* Garlic Chicken dish - Good! Came with vegetables and rice.

Service was very good: Friendly, unobtrusive and quick.

If you are looking for top notch Vietnamese food - stick to Somerset street. If you want a good West End choice, this is your place. I give it a solid 3.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Eh_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benji's Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing