We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shawarma Station

Shawarma Station
Ranked #507 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
280 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went there today since I was in the area. The parking lot there is always so busy dangerous. It is really easy to have an accident.

The guy at the flat bread area (the counter when you first come in where you can get zataar, etc.) was really rude. He did not address us whatsoever. Even once the sandwich was made, he didn't even turn around to give it to us. I had to stick my hand behind the counter to take it on my way out.

As for the shawarma it was ok. You'd think they'd try harder now that there is a competing shawarma restaurant directly across the street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best shawarma I ever have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This place it's original best shawarma Best service The food here is so good large menu The price is very reasonably and very clean

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The food is so good here ! I have had the chicken shawarmas and the chicken plate . The portions are enormous , the food is so tasty . If you love garlic .. This is the place to be ! The chicken is cooked to perfection ! It is juicy , tender and well marinated . The place is very clean , very friendly staff and there is ample parking . A must try restaurant ! Definitely the best shawarma place in Ottawa !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheline007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Food was excellent. Portions were amazing. Location also great compared to where we stayed (Southway Inn)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, tasty food...Bring your appetite! KaraokeDivo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

If this place indeed reminds some of a '50's diner, maybe it's because the fresh food will really 'rock' you!

The servings are huge, as I ordered the No. 6 chicken platter; the potatoes are delicious, the chicken reasonably tender, the garlic sauce tangy. I prefer the unseasoned rice, since there is enough flavour to go around; this is also the first Shawarma that I've visited, to bake their own pita bread! (Just open the fresh pita pocket, and fill it up with hummus & fresh veggies!)

Remember to bring your appetite, as one large platter can feed one hungry man, or be shared between two persons!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraokeDivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shawarma Station also viewed

 

Been to Shawarma Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing