We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of izakaya - CLOSED

izakaya
Cuisines: Japanese, Spanish, Asian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went for our 2nd time in 2 years, again for dinner. Sashimi platter (chef's choice) was great - very fresh, simple, served at the proper temperature, good size pieces. Short rib gyoza was good, but the yakitori was a bit boring. Dessert (sponge cake with salted caramel) was awesome!
Service was also great. Not sure why it was so empty on a Thursday night, although could be that the place constantly has a cold draft coming in from outside.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmckendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    27
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice design, look, feel, and concept...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

... But generally the experience was underwhelming with a high-priced tag... There is no rush to go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

It was a very quiet Sunday night, with almost no one in the restaurant. We didn't mind that we weren't rushed, but there were times we thought we were forgotten. Tried the table d'hote option. Midori salad was fresh, well presented and tasty. Sushi roll was very nicely done, well presented and very tasty. Chicken teriyaki was a good sized portion and well presented; poached egg was perfect. Chicken texture was more like a chicken paddy than breast (may have been over marinated). Good wine selection for all price ranges.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank excobra_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Asian Fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

i recently had dinner with colleague here on a Wednesday night, which happened to be their 1/2 price small plate special night. As such, we shared five of the small plates and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The salmon tarutaru was particularly nice, the Onigiri Russian roulette seemed like a good idea until I was unlucky enough to pick the VERY HOT "special" rice ball (LOL!). The Ika Yaki was an interesting flavor, never had squid served that way before. The vanilla and blueberry creme brulee was interesting but I'm not sure that mixture works. Good wine selection, nice ambiance, would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great ramen soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ramen soup is wonderful . Gyozas (dumplings) were somewhat small but very tasty.
Great service. Nice ambience. Quiet--no loud music is a treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank philnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed izakaya also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing