We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised. Good food and service.”
Review of Oh Basil

Oh Basil
Ranked #1,112 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised. Good food and service.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were in the area and saw Oh Basil in the Elmvale acres strip mall. There were a number of other people and we needed to find dinner so stopped in. We were pleasantly surprised. The menu had a good selection, staff were attentive, offered good advice, and overall service was great. The food (chicken stays, oh basil noodle dish with chicken, and lemongrass lamb with rice and salad) were all good. The appetizers ranged from $4-$7 average and mains from $9-$14 on average which was reasonable and portion sizes excellent. We'd definitely return.
One big bonus, they don't use MSG. We asked and they explicitly said they don't use MSG in their food which is great since many Asian food restaurants do.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood Vietnamese and Thai”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We love having this good-quality restaurant in our neighbourhood. We keep coming back and have enjoyed the pad thai, the pho, the Thai fried rice and the yellow curry. The food is fresh and tasty and the service is efficient and pleasant. A local gem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh, Flavourful Food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This little restaurant serves up delicious, fresh food at a very affordable price. The service and quality of food was very good. We ate in the middle of the afternoon and the food was prepared promptly and was very tasty. The vegetables were fresh and delicious and the peanut sauce was perfection.
The ambiance is not overly classy, pretty much an open room with several tables. But the food makes this little restaurant worth trying.
I felt it was priced right for the amount of food served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Terrible service, poor food and poor choices”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I brought my mother and my handicapped husband for lunch. They pushed my husband into a cramped corner and gave us two plates when there were three of us. The service was rude, we never got water and the tea was substandard.
I ordered the green curry which was not fresh (Dried mushrooms and precious little chicken), we also had the appetizer plate which was unappealing and overly fried.

When we went to pay, the waiter was very rude to my elderly mother insisting she pay cash and showed her where to leave a tip. Needless to say the tip was 0.

This restaurant has poor quality food, terrible prices and overcharges patrons. Stay away!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karine427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Thai/Vietnamese Restaurant in Elmvale area of Ottawa”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A nice, tiny restaurant with decent Thai dishes packed with fresh flavours. My aunt and I showed up within 30 minutes of closing, so I didn't really get a feel for the service...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Basil also viewed

 
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Been to Oh Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing