We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect combination”

Charing House Gardens B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charing House Gardens B&B
Ranked #22 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect combination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were two couples traveling together and took the suite and the west room. We wondered about the breakfast policy before we booked but were pleasantly surprised at how the mix of fruit, yoghurt, cheese and drinks kept us going all day. The gardens are lovely, the handiness of the site suited us well, and the hospitality was superb. We would recommend Charing House Gardens to anyone.

Harry, Pat, Denis, and Penny

Room Tip: The suite is the best value as it has an en-suite bathroom and a sitting room for only a few dollars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed at this B&B on a couple of occasions now. I originally chose this B&B because of its location and I thought the price was excellent. The location is great for getting around Ottawa--there is free parking if you have a car or public transit is not too far away and it doesn't take too long to get downtown. What's even better about this B&B is the cozy rooms. The rooms are large and comfortable and all of the amenities you would find in a hotel are provided. The private bathrooms were a big plus. Finally, the best part of the stay at this B&B is really the lovely couple who run it, Olly and Ron. I found them to be very warm and inviting and they made every effort to make sure that my stay with them was as comfortable as possible. I highly recommend this B&B for any trip to Ottawa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 280Basi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Charing House Gardens, vacation like B&B, where you feel straight away at home!
Thank you Ron and Olly (and Lacey too!) for the welcoming ambiance at your mansion like residence in a great safe neighborhood in West Ottawa.
We enjoyed a very pleasant stay in the spacious and comfortable suite with various practical amenities.
Plus may extra's: extra fresh fruit, a lift to the busstation, interesting conversations and a sympathetic and accomodating approach to make the stay even more enjoyable.
We can recommend Charing House Gardens warmly, even in winter!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Although my stay was short, (1night) The Charing House Gardens was just what I was looking for. Quiet, clean and very comfortable. I had been in ariports all day long and just wanted to relax in a cozy room.
The couple who run the Charing House are welcoming and kind.
If you are seeking a quiet, comfortable space and in need of a good night's sleep, I highly recommend the Charing House Gardens.
I was also given a great food basket arrangement in the morning filled with little snacks to get me through to lunch.
I highly recommend :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewking799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I could not have asked for a better place to stay during my recent house hunting trip to Ottawa. The Blue Room is quiet, with a large private bathroom located directly across the hall. The house itself is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, removed from the hustle and bustle of downtown. I felt very welcomed by hosts Olly and Ron and I enjoyed being able to relax on the back deck with Lacey, the lovely dog who lives here, as a willing companion. Breakfasts were prepared the night before and included an assortment of fruit, yogurt, granola bars, and cheese – certainly all I needed and with leftovers to take away for snacks. There’s a Tassimo for coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. There is plenty of free on-street parking. I've already made arrangements to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa West - Nepean
1.2 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#43 of 67 in Ottawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charing House Gardens B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charing House Gardens B&B

Property: Charing House Gardens B&B
Address: 32 Charing Rd | Nepean, Ottawa, Ontario K2G 0Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charing House has two second floor rooms ideal for nightly, weekly, or monthly accommodation in a large executive home. Located in Nepean, in west Ottawa, it is a fifteen minute drive to downtown, and a seven minute walk to a bus stop. Access is easy from Highways 416 and 417. Parking is available. Fifteen minute drive to downtown Ottawa. The location is great for sports in all seasons as it faces Charing Park where soccer, basketball, baseball, play structures, and a skating rink are located. The Nepean Sportsplex and the Ottawa Superdome at Ben Franklin Park are minutes away. Bell Arena, Merivale Arena, and the Walter Baker Sports Centre are all about a ten minute drive. The backyard has direct access to the National Capital Commission bike path system which extends for many miles through park settings throughout the city, for both biking and walking, as well as cross country skiing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing