We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Average”

Big Rig Kitchen & Brewery
Ranked #130 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were a little wary of going here given some of the recent reviews, but decided to find out for ourselves. We arrived for lunch around 1pm on a Thursday and the place was quite full. We were quickly greeted at the front door and the hostess went to find us a table. Not moments after she left another staff member approached to ask if we had been helped yet. Within minutes the hostess returned to inform us that our table was being cleaned and we would be seated momentarily. Given the earlier reviews about poor and slow service our visit was not starting that way. We were seated a few moments later and our waitress was right over to take our drink order. They have great beer brewed on the premises. It was not long before our drinks arrived and our order was taken. We decided to split a plate of nachos. As it was lunch and the place was full I expected a long wait for food but to my surprise the wait was less than a half hr. The nachos were the best I've had in years. I'm used to a pile of chips with cheese and salsa that quickly turns to a pile of mush. Not these. The multi colored chips were sturdy and the pile of chips was layered with cheese,pulled chicken, black beans, corn, scallions and pickled jalapeno peppers. The salsa was served on the side along with guacamole and sour cream. The only thing we did not like about the nachos was the price @$15 a little high but after seeing how much was piled on, we were less bothered by the cost. We both ate till we were full and could not finish the plate. Our overall experience was good but seeing how the ratings here go from average to very good we slotted them at average with a title better than average. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Konrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    120
    78
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“MEDIOCRE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My first and possibly last visit here started off good with their Big Rig Red. A refreshing easy drinking shanty type beer with a good presence of grapefruit yet on the light side when it came to hops. Summer beer for sure. My bacon cheese burger was tasteless and a tad over worked seasoning would sure help. On the small side for the price they are asking. Biggest complaint was the $2.50 substitution charge for the pre made boxed frozen onion rings well that is how the tasted. They were oily mostly batter I paid what for that! I tried a few of my buddies Yukon gold fries and the were pretty bad as well oil laden thinner cut fry, we are the city of fry trucks one would think a lesson there to be learned. Mediocre food at exorbitant prices really $17 for a small burger and crappy rings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenVOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rushed in for a quick lunch service was good however hamburgers ordered were very dry! Sorry Big Rig you dropped the ball on this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Over-Rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Can't really understand what the long lines here are all about! Perhaps the novelty of the brewery - after all, that's why we got sucked in.

Yes, the beer is good, but you can get good beer at lots of other places that also actually have good food, good service and good atmosphere! The food here is mediocre and VERY overpriced for what you get. The previous reviews about the inexperienced staff and slow service are correct.

Save your time, trouble and money and skip the Big Rig!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank optionsottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NOT GOOD AT ALL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

After everyone raving about the place, I had to go and check it out. What a disappointment, poor bar service, staff who did not care about customers, only about chatting with themselves, poor food with commercial pre -made coleslaw, is anything fresh ??? Would NOT recommend and will not go back. Go to Milestones around the corner where the staff seem to care about the customers and the food is much better and less expensive..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irishroverottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Rig Kitchen & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Big Rig Kitchen & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing