We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food, great experience”

Brothers Beer Bistro
Ranked #165 of 2,744 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went there with friends. It is one of the great place I've been to in Ottawa. It was a good bistro food, where beer is in every single meal on the card. Even on butter (but that wasn't actually a success). They also have a large variety of beer.
In general we had a great time there, and we'll definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank decla1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    68
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great drinks, but sub par food.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place was recommended from a friend who raves about the bartender who works there on Tuesdays and Saturdays. We went on a Tuesday evening, and while the decor was cool, and the drinks were fantastic, the meal was not good at all, especially for the price.

I ordered the octopus, and my fiancé had a burger. We also ordered mussels to start, which did not taste fresh at all. The octopus was just okay, as was the burger. The only good thing about the meal were the drinks. Wow. I ordered a Manhattan, and it arrived smoking! The drink had a fantastic, woody, smoky taste. The drinks would have been even better if it hadn't taken almost 30 minutes for the 3 of us to get them!! Unfortunately, the sub par food was also further punctuated by very slow service. being a Tuesday after 8:30pm, this was very disappointing, as the place wasn't full.

All in all, we won,T be back, although we could be convinced to start off a Saturday night there for a few drinks at the bar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mettrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“try it, it is good and different, the beer pairing is amazing”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been at this restaurant twice, once for brunch and once for dinner.For brunch we had a frittata that was delicious,however the egg Benny were cold and the hollandaise was invisible but the pairing with beer was very good and we decided to try dinner, and we like everything ; the tuna crudo was very good, the mussels also our entire meal was very good and the surprise is the suggested pairing of plates with beer that make this place very interesting, and the service was excellent .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic hamburger, delicious home made bread and great beers!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

I love this place! We had a delicious hamburger, cooked with beer. Lovely side fries well cooked and very good beer. Price not too high and servant was just wonderful. All very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
256 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“NEW and GOOD”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We always ask locals for recommendations of good restaurants and this 7 week old Bistro was one that was top of the list.If you like BEER you will love it,If a wine drinker,lot's of choice to.
The menu is small (good choice for everyone),The food is big in taste with beer a main ingredient in everything.
I highly recommend this NEW restaurant ,the staff are good,It is well priced and is very lively in atmosphere ,but not overpowering.
It has a good pedigree from some of the best restaurants in Ottawa.
Looking forward to returning on our next visit to the City.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brothers Beer Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Brothers Beer Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing