We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kids say "Wow"”

Canada Aviation and Space Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.70*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #11 of 257 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum engages visitors with the wonder of flight through its spectacular collection, educational programming, activities, and special events. The Museum focuses on aviation in Canada, but within an international context, from its beginnings in 1909 to the present day. As Canada’s contribution to aviation expanded to include aerospace technology, the Museum’s collection and mandate grew to include space flight.The Collection itself consists of more than 130 aircraft and artifacts (propellers, engines) from both civil and military service. It gives particular, but not exclusive, reference to Canadian achievements. The most extensive aviation collection in Canada, it is also considered one of the finest in the world.Care and development of this collection remains one of the Museum’s main purposes. The Museum practises conservation and restoration techniques to keep the collection in a condition equal to the highest standards.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“kids say "Wow"”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great place. Lots of walking but the kids were very fascinated by the places and loved the mini space shuttle they got to play in and the craft table. They rated it the second best museum next to the childrens museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    355
    81
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful look at airplane history”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We enjoyed walking through this museum following an easy path to see the history of flight with descriptive signs. Best for adults and school age children. As my husband was a pilot in the RCAF this was especially interesting. We have taken our children and grandchildren in the past and this time it was a request of our 24 year old grandson, studying at the University of Ottawa.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This museum is better suited for older children or adults. Not much to do for little ones. Not easily accessible by bus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting, thoughtful displays”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Canadian Aviation and Space Museum. Starting with the Silver Dart and ending with the modern jet age, this museum is mostly chronologically laid out. Almost every plane has a sign explaining its history and there are several videos, interactive stations and a few planes that you can sit inside. The space exhibition is very small, but a nice complement to the aviation exhibits. We visited on a Monday morning and there were very few visitors. I recommend spending at least 3 hours.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KareAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good museum but not great”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Basically a large hangar with lots of exhibits - planes from all eras. Interesting but not particularly exciting. After the 10th plane, they are almost all the same, the kids got bored after an hour. Luckily there was a Star Wars exhibition going on at the same time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank weesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada Aviation and Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canada Aviation and Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing