We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New location is shabby :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Australis Guest House
Ranked #4 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New location is shabby :-(”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Great location but moving to a smaller house does not suit Australis. The shared bath / facilities situation is terrible. Rooms are small, with not much by way of lighting / ventilation. Laundry / linens not changed frequently. The scones are awful - Ottawa offers much better food and accommodation for the money. Sorry but the Australis is no longer the beacon it used to be - downsizing from Marlborough Ave has meant that it has lost a great deal of its former charm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANewMemberParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    36
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
79
63
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My trip began at the Australis Guest House in the Sandyhill area of Ottawa. A perfectly central location with witch to see Ottawa's many highlights by foot. In fact, it took us about 20 minutes to walk to see the "Changing of the Guard" and a further 15 minutes to get into the Byward Market. Two must see places in Ottawa. Out hosts Carole and Brian Waters were very helpful in letting us know what was "On" in Ottawa during our stay and offering us coupons and destination ideas. Our room was very large with a Queen sized bed and a balcony overlooking the street. Very nice indeed, as we took our evening glass of wine on our private balcony! Provided for us were thick and thirsty towels and the bedding was clean and the quilt handmade. Carole makes the best breakfasts and has even penned her own breakfast cookbook. Coffee just kept coming as well as the conversation over breakfast! Great, will stay again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 125Acacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Australis Guest House is an amazing B&B.
The owner, Carole, is very helpful and sociable. She likes art in general and she's travelling a lot. She's very interesting. She even gave us gifts when we left!
The house is very nice, very cosy, very clean.
Me ang my girlfriend had a room with a balcony. The area is very quiet and at about 5-10 minutes from downtown.
The breakfasts we had were great too. We stayed two nights and we had two different breakfasts, each time made by Carole herself.
I do totally recommend this place. If in the future, I'll go back to Ottawa, I'll definitely choose this place again.
Great value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ol_aully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Had a great 3 night stay at the Australis Guest House. Its a lovely and clean place in a handy location near to the centre. Carol and Brian are great hosts and i would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I can't say enough good things about the Australis. Carol and Brian go out of their way to be not just hosts, but friends as well. Every time I've stayed with them, I've felt like one of the family.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camenzind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, QC, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

The owners Carol and Brian are extremely warm-hearted, friendly and especially helpful in any need you might have. The breakfast is another five-star-experience and can hardly be overexpected. Within walking distance of Ottawa's centre, this B&B is for sure a perfect base to spend some wonderful time in Canada's capital.
If you think the price is a bit above low-budget-hostels you are right, but let me tell you this: It's worth any quarter you spend and without any restriction recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exploring_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Carol and Brian Waters are wonderful hosts, and the breakfasts are great. The B&B is situated within walking distance from the Old Market, University of Ottawa, the Parliament buildings, the Rideau Canal and downtown Ottawa. The house is a comfortable older house in a very nice neighbourhood. It is clean very reasonably priced and the proprieters go out of their way to be helpful. I have stayed there several times and have never been let down.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoAbelard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Australis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Guest House

Property: Australis Guest House
Address: 89 Goulburn Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Australis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Australis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing