We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem”

Canada Agriculture and Food Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.49*
and up
Ottawa Highlights Half-Day Bike Tour
Ranked #33 of 255 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Canada Agriculture and Food Museum is living proof of the "Green Capital". In fact, Ottawa is the only world capital that has a working farm at its heart. Canada's unique agricultural heritage is featured at the Canada Agriculture and Food Museum, where you can explore the sights and sounds of typical farm life. Visit the Animals Get up close and personal with a number of animals at the Canada Agriculture and Food Museum. In our barns and barnyards, you'll see different breeds of various farm animals. Don't forget to look for our heritage breeds! See the Exhibitions The Canada Agriculture and Food Museum features fun, interactive exhibitions showcasing Canada's agricultural history as well as contemporary agricultural problems and solutions.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am interested in agricultural history and this is a real gem. They have rare and older breeds of Canadian cows and pigs and horses. The barns are beautifully maintained and it allows children face to face access with farm animals and teaches them about the realities of farming. We are lucky to have this

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karine427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    42
    16
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Take the kiddies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ottawa's Arboretum and Central Experimental Farm are part of the Government of Canada's Department of Agriculture. Still a working research centre, the Farm is open to the public and provides city kids with a working farm experience. It really is a treasure. Spring is the best time to visit the farm - the baby animals delight children. The Arboretum features beautiful gardens with apple trees in spectacular bloom. During the summer its a great place for locals to bike, walk and run.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shonarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Agriculture Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a must for anyone with children. My Grandson got to name a calf and this was a red letter day for him. We are hooked!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute and fun to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

What fun for the whole family - young and not so young! Highly recommend. The true meaning of the circle of love.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for kids and famillies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is great place to go, especially with children. I have went a couple times with friends with children and always enjoy the experience. The kids can touch some small goats and those type of animals. In the spring we say a huge pig with its little tiny piglets! There is a place with picnic tables if you wish to lay down a blanket and eat. I have also been to Valleyview animal farm which is more interactive but has less animals and space and I believe was more expensive.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank southporcupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada Agriculture and Food Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canada Agriculture and Food Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing