We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best museums”

Canadian Museum of Nature
Ranked #9 of 256 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's national natural history museum offers world-class galleries in a handsome heritage "castle". Marvel at dinosaurs and other ancient reptiles in the Fossil Gallery. See grizzlies and other wild animals up close in beautiful dioramas in the Mammal Gallery. Observe hundreds of specimens in the Bird Gallery. See a real blue whale skeleton in the Water Gallery. Be dazzled by over a thousand gorgeous minerals and rocks in the Earth Gallery. Peer at an eye-popping assortment of creepy crawlies in Nature Live. Enjoy an action-packed 3D movie. Take advantage of numerous hands-on activities. Don't miss the special, travelling exhibitions. A superb destination for visitors of all ages!
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best museums”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We walked from our hotel to the museum and back. The Museum of Nature is doable from almost all the hotels. My family spent 3 hours inside the museum. There is so much to learn and see. My kids enjoyed the Nature museum the best. My husband and myself couldn't believe we spent 3 hours looking at everything. The time just went so fast. It was a rainy day but it did not spoil our exciting & informative day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumofnature, Communications Officer at Canadian Museum of Nature, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your very nice review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    475
    130
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Learn a lot”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Been there in the summer, love everything even the building! The transportation is very convince to there as well, great place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrJSC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumofnature, Communications Officer at Canadian Museum of Nature, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you learned a lot. Hope to see you again soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boisbriand, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very educational, lots to see”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Very friendly staff, clean and well taken care. A whole day trip at the museum. Lots to see and very educational. It's Worth the visit. Wear running shoes...lots of walking.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank seyvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumofnature, Communications Officer at Canadian Museum of Nature, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thanks very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comprehensive and child friendly”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This Museum needs a full day to take in the many theamed display areas.
If you want a comprehensive introduction to the natural world of Canada this is the place to go.
The exhibits are very child friendly and there are lots of hands on activities.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumofnature, Communications Officer at Canadian Museum of Nature, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice visit”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Not too busy for a weekend in August. No long lines and very friendly staff.

Parking cost $12 (standard daily rate for Ottawa) and is uncovered.

General Admission is $12 and includes wonderful dinosaur exhibit, great underwater gallery and lots of interactive games for kids.

The special exhibit is another 9$ and was no more interesting than the other exhibits in the gallery.

The 3D movie cost another $10ish and lasted 20minutes. It was a smaller theatre than the Museum of Civilization and felt a little cramped.

Overall, great exhibits, BEAUTIFUL building, and friendly staff. However, If I only had one day in Ottawa I would spend it at the Museum of Civilization.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museumofnature, Communications Officer at Canadian Museum of Nature, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you liked exhibits, beautiful building and friendly staff. Please note that the fee for the special exhibition is $8 for an adult (not $9). Also the fee for the 3D movie is only an additional $4. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Museum of Nature also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Museum of Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing