We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three weeks in the US/Canada and this was the worst place I stayed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ottawa Backpackers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ottawa Backpackers Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Three weeks in the US/Canada and this was the worst place I stayed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Dirty, rundown, overpriced, unfriendly, poor facilities.. I could go on. I only had one night in Ottawa, so I don't know if there are better alternatives, but if you want to see what a real hostel should be like, go to Montreal instead and stay in the M Hostel for the same price.
The only good thing here was a decent location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsox-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinjones99, Owner at Ottawa Backpackers Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We agree that M Hostel is very well priced, however it is not possible to compare the prices in Montreal and Ottawa as they are two very different markets. Ottawa Backpackers Inn is the cheapest hostel in Ottawa and we believe that we are very fairly priced - the rooms are secure (with lockers in them) and spacious and the kitchen has everything you would expect in it and more (we even have an electric whisk!). We've also made a couple of changes since you've been here - new TV, regular activity nights such as cake night and a special map we give to our guests which has discounts for guests at local businesses in the area. Do give us a try if you're back in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    95
    54
    26
    21
See reviews for
13
38
146
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montcuq, France
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I spent one night in this hostel and it was enough! We had reserved a room with my boyfriend and at our arrival we were suprised that they gave us the room in the basement. The semi finished room was very dark and unappealing, moreover the room was very noisy because it was located under the kitchen and next to the washing machines.
The room was not very tidy and the bathroom was terrible.
The staff was acceptable but they didn't give us any recommandations of what to do in Ottawa and they don't propose anything in the hostel.
The only good point of this hostel is the location because it is close to everything, the byward market, many restaurants, coffee, pub ...

Room Tip: Ask to not be in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I can't really say much about this place, I expected a lot as the hostel seemed so nice from it's pictures! It's location is pretty sweet and the staff were really helpful, I liked the people in my room and they seemed to wanna party, other than that nothing to spectacular to report here....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed one week in early October 2013 in a 5 -bunkbed room at the top floor and it does get crowded when it is full as 10 adults are sleeping in the same room.

Good points : great location in the central Byward Market where shops,bars and restaurants and coffee places abound in a stone's throw; good wi-fi internet, a well-equipped kitchen with microwave, range with oven, toaster, and most kitchen utensils; one large living room providing 3 couches and electrical outlets, an outside porch with couch; friendly,easy-going staff of 4 females and 2 males sleeping on site in the basement.

Not so pleasant features : one w-c with lavabo per room of 10 guests, 1 shower on the ground floor for all, staff can monopolize the kitchen table to celebrate some staff event leaving guests to eat in the living room, one staff member would play loudly her computer radio music.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a 4-person room , avoid the 10-person room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vnazaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August and it was a decent experience. It is located in Bytown, near the market, and a stone's throw away from the Canadian Parliament. The rooms are named after continents and the bunks are named for different landmarks on that respective continent - a nice touch! The staff here are very friendly but when it comes to the city itself, it didn't seem like they knew too much other than what was in the general vicinity. However, they were very helpful in getting information they didn't know. It was also quite clean, and they emphasized that you had to take off your shoes when entering to keep the place clean. I was staying there at the time when a lot of exchange students from Europe and Brazil came over so I was kind of the lone traveller but other than that, a very average stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheibans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is pretty much a typical hostel - all the usual stuff applies.

The rooms on the 2nd floor can get really hot, so be prepared for that. Sometimes they put fans in the rooms...

There is a porch you can sit on, but be prepared for smoke from others.

It is close to the Byward Market, so that is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a nice, friendly and generally welcoming hostel. Upon arrival, however, it isn't obvious where the office is and I found myself standing in the doorway feeling quite confused. However, once I walked further into the building I was greeted by a very helpful guy at reception. The staff didn't hesitate to answer my questions and get me set up for my stay. Everyone was very friendly, however it seemed to me like all the staff had been living together for a long time and as such I felt a little bit like I was staying in their house/intruding. I would call this somewhat of a "party hostel"; many people, including staff, would start drinking at 2pm and I was awoken in the middle of the night numerous times to the sound of someone vomitting in the bathroom (however I feel this was likely an isolated incident).

Social awkwardness aside, this was a very nice and cozy place. The kitchen was well equipped, the dorm room spacious enough with nightlight and locker (however it got very hot at night!). The location is also great, basically a block away from Byward Market, and half a block from an organic grocery store which I made great use of. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubymathilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottawa Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottawa Backpackers Inn

Property: Ottawa Backpackers Inn
Address: 203 York St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ottawa Backpackers Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottawa Backpackers Inn is the cheapest hostel accommodation in Ottawa. Our hostel does not charge an extra $5 membership fee on arrival. We're also the friendliest hostel in Ottawa. We pride ourselves on offering a laid back service for short term travellers at a great location in the city. We're located Downtown, only 2 minutes away from Byward Market, a supermarket and the liquor store. The Parliament, US Embassy and the Art Gallery are all an easy stroll away. We have all the facilities you would expect from a hostel plus some nice, little extras.> Spacious dorm rooms with safe, secure lockers> friendly staff who can answer most, if not all, your queries> regular night time activities including cake night and movie nights> a common room to chill out in> great kitchen facilities including gas stove, microwave and electric whisks> free bedding with the option to hire towels> free hi-speed wifi> free tea and coffee> luggage storage> parking> laundry> a cat, well not a facility, but a nice extra Reception is open from 8am - 12am. CANCELLATION POLICY: We do not charge for cancellations which are received more than 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ottawa Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Backpackers Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing