We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It can get hot...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ottawa Backpackers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ottawa Backpackers Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It can get hot...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is pretty much a typical hostel - all the usual stuff applies.

The rooms on the 2nd floor can get really hot, so be prepared for that. Sometimes they put fans in the rooms...

There is a porch you can sit on, but be prepared for smoke from others.

It is close to the Byward Market, so that is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    95
    54
    26
    21
See reviews for
13
38
146
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a nice, friendly and generally welcoming hostel. Upon arrival, however, it isn't obvious where the office is and I found myself standing in the doorway feeling quite confused. However, once I walked further into the building I was greeted by a very helpful guy at reception. The staff didn't hesitate to answer my questions and get me set up for my stay. Everyone was very friendly, however it seemed to me like all the staff had been living together for a long time and as such I felt a little bit like I was staying in their house/intruding. I would call this somewhat of a "party hostel"; many people, including staff, would start drinking at 2pm and I was awoken in the middle of the night numerous times to the sound of someone vomitting in the bathroom (however I feel this was likely an isolated incident).

Social awkwardness aside, this was a very nice and cozy place. The kitchen was well equipped, the dorm room spacious enough with nightlight and locker (however it got very hot at night!). The location is also great, basically a block away from Byward Market, and half a block from an organic grocery store which I made great use of. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubymathilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

this hostel is the worst i have seen and i travelled in canada, europe and south america. the bathroom carpet was disgusting and the sheets dirty. it is located in a bad neighborhood according to the cab driver.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flopejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you expect quick service then you won't get it here. Its a very laid back environment. Never real aware who works at the hostel, just pretty much guessing who you need to speak to. Staff have no initiative to tell you where anything is. You have to ask for everything.

Rooms and hostel is very hot in the summer. the rooms are humid and only fans are there to compensate but they really don't help. you will have a tuff time sleeping and waking up in sweat.

Location is great though. close to shops, markets, restaurants… pubs.. etc. wifi is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrizzleFizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at Ottawa Backpackers Inn for three nights in June 2013, and had a great time! The rooms were clean, beds were comfy, showers were warm, and there are lockers in the room and the hallways. The kitchen and living space are very cosy, and there is a patio outdoors, so it is very easy to meet people but you can also sit and do your own thing perfectly fine.The laundry room is in a building next door but is good value for money and handy for have. The staff were always very friendly and helpful, and this is probably my favourite hostel I've stayed in so far - clean, comfy, friendly, and a real home-from-home. Would recommend to anyone. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I only stayed two nights, which is hardly long enough to experience the vibe of the hostel. However, most of what I can say is positive. The hostel was clean - in particular I always appreciate a hostel that stocks soap in its bathrooms so you don't have to bring your own on each trip. The refrigerator, a location that can be totally disgusting in a shared space, was huge and well kept. In addition, the staff was friendly and always fixing something up.

The only thing I disliked about the hostel was the fact that the common area encircled a huge TV which was always on. It really destroyed the vibe that I typically enjoy about hostels: the common area where everyone hangs out and talks. Because I am not used to having a TV on all the time, I find it incredibly distracting (and come on, we're not talking about Game of Thrones, it was reality TV). It made me not want to hang out in the common area, which was quite all right for a weekend, but would prevent me from staying longer.

http://last60first60.blogspot.ca/2013/04/day-23-ottawa-backpackers-inn.html

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambéry
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed two weeks in this place while I was searching for a place to live for my exchange year in Otown. When I first arrived it was midnight and I was jet lagged but I felt at home almost instantaneously. This lil house is very comfy and welcoming. The staff are just perfect hosts. The living room and the terrace are the best place to chill and meet new falks.

The hostel is one of the party kind due to its student frequentation and I would not recomend ir for an honeymoon but if you want to traveland feel what the real canadian kindness is made it's the place to be. This is what all backpackers dream of.

It's very central and near byward market wich is the most lively part of town. Near the major buslines and easily joined from the airport.

I've been to 20+ hostels since and it never felt the same. This place have made my year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World-Cakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottawa Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottawa Backpackers Inn

Property: Ottawa Backpackers Inn
Address: 203 York St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ottawa Backpackers Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottawa Backpackers Inn is the cheapest hostel accommodation in Ottawa. Our hostel does not charge an extra $5 membership fee on arrival. We're also the friendliest hostel in Ottawa. We pride ourselves on offering a laid back service for short term travellers at a great location in the city. We're located Downtown, only 2 minutes away from Byward Market, a supermarket and the liquor store. The Parliament, US Embassy and the Art Gallery are all an easy stroll away. We have all the facilities you would expect from a hostel plus some nice, little extras.> Spacious dorm rooms with safe, secure lockers> friendly staff who can answer most, if not all, your queries> regular night time activities including cake night and movie nights> a common room to chill out in> great kitchen facilities including gas stove, microwave and electric whisks> free bedding with the option to hire towels> free hi-speed wifi> free tea and coffee> luggage storage> parking> laundry> a cat, well not a facility, but a nice extra Reception is open from 8am - 12am. CANCELLATION POLICY: We do not charge for cancellations which are received more than 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ottawa Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Backpackers Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing