We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a couple of nights... Not that great of a hostel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ottawa Backpackers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ottawa Backpackers Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Málaga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK for a couple of nights... Not that great of a hostel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. We booked a double room and when we got there we realized that we had no room whatsoever: it was a double bed located in an unfinished basement with a tacky curtain, which was a poor attempt to make it more private. There are very very very FEW bathrooms bearing in mind the amount of people staying at the hostel and generally speaking the hostel is not the cleanest place I have stayed in.

Anyways, location-wise it is OK since it is at a walking distance from downtown Ottawa, the Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and all the other attractions of the city plus Ottawa U. The staff was quite friendly and the atmosphere at the hostel was nice, so it kinda made up for the cons. It is a hostel after all, and it is cheap.

I recommend it for a 1-2 night stay, but try to get a better room than us. The hostel gets packed since it is probably one of the very few budget places in Ottawa, so try to arrange something ahead: it was impossible for us to change the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs. Avoid the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    95
    54
    26
    21
See reviews for
13
38
146
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location by the market and the place is kept in very nice conditions. The rooms are small but bathrooms are great! Defiantly value for money

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison2892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Lovely hostel that's been designed to be very homely, cheap and staff were so welcoming. I liked that the bathrooms were 'individual' like in a home, rather than one big room with 10 showers, 10 toilets, 10 sinks etc. though I didn't shower at a peak time and I can see the mornings being a bit manic. The hostel was a bit of a walk from the attractions however.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

*An old review. The location was good; a rather longish walk to the sights. Not shady, though there were a couple spots near by that were sketchy. No breakfast but we didn't mind.

We stayed only one night in a private room, which was actually a 4-bed dorm. Some confusion at check-in and it didn't feel particularly warm but we had no complaints since all we wanted was a bed at night. There was a fuss about parking the car a few hours extra after check out, so we chose to park elsewhere which turned out cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sss1blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

As a hostel, this is great. Great location, great common room, rooms reasonable, a bit short on bathrooms, spotlessly clean and with excellent outdoor sitting areas for sunny days. No problems with this at all.


BUT- it is a hostel. It is not a hotel. You meet all sorts of people here, some great, some good, some cool, some boring and some less than pleasant. But that is part of travelling.

The double rooms are in the basement, which is fine, clean etc, and I have no problem with this at all.

No breakfast- you have to make your own. but free coffee. and it is good. So that is a huge bonus. The canadian staff or pseudo staff who work here are superb and friendly. The european staff who work here vary. Some are knowledgable, and some are clearly here for the job. But I am in the hospitality game, so my standards are probably too high.

I stayed here as I was on a budget. It was fine for me. I would definately stay again if I needed the same facilities again and was on a budget. The atmosphere was fine.

Price wise I thought this was the only downer- it was a bit pricey for the quality of product, but the cheapest hotel was twice the price, so the whole of Ottawa is probably expensive.

Room Tip: basements are cool in summer and toasty in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkbalikadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hostel itself was cute but in a shady area. Didn't feel too safe walking home once it got dark. Staff was quite friendly but too few bathrooms for the amount of people staying at the hostel. Didn't like having to pay extra for towels. And last but not least...I woke up one morning with 27 bites...turns out they were bed bugs! I have heard that others who stayed at this hostel also got bed bugs. I really don't think I would stay here again! They need to focus more on their hygiene!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed here for 7 nights in October. I was a bit worried, I haven't stayed in a hostel for 25 years but it was great. The location is downtown, very central, 10 minutes walk from the center. Some of the previous reviews have mentioned that it is not the best area, and yes, there are a couple of homeless shelters nearby but I never felt uncomfortable by this and Ottawa feels like a very safe city. The hostel is very friendly, clean, homely. I was pleasantly surprised by the facilities, the bathrooms where good, the kitchen was large and well stocked. I think some people expect far too much for their money. I had some great conversations with other travelers from all over the world. I didn't find it noisy or smelly and would definitely stay there again or recommend it to friends. This is a backpackers hostel not a smart hotel, and if you bear that in mind, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AilsaB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottawa Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottawa Backpackers Inn

Property: Ottawa Backpackers Inn
Address: 203 York St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5T7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ottawa Backpackers Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottawa Backpackers Inn is the cheapest hostel accommodation in Ottawa. Our hostel does not charge an extra $5 membership fee on arrival. We're also the friendliest hostel in Ottawa. We pride ourselves on offering a laid back service for short term travellers at a great location in the city. We're located Downtown, only 2 minutes away from Byward Market, a supermarket and the liquor store. The Parliament, US Embassy and the Art Gallery are all an easy stroll away. We have all the facilities you would expect from a hostel plus some nice, little extras.> Spacious dorm rooms with safe, secure lockers> friendly staff who can answer most, if not all, your queries> regular night time activities including cake night and movie nights> a common room to chill out in> great kitchen facilities including gas stove, microwave and electric whisks> free bedding with the option to hire towels> free hi-speed wifi> free tea and coffee> luggage storage> parking> laundry> a cat, well not a facility, but a nice extra Reception is open from 8am - 12am. CANCELLATION POLICY: We do not charge for cancellations which are received more than 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ottawa Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Backpackers Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing