We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely come back”

Havana Cafe and Catering
Ranked #181 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mtl
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will definitely come back”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I discovered this place as I was walking down Bank St. The yuca fries and pork bites we ordered were delicious, will definitely be coming back to try their dinner menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxcatwomanxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious and great prices!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just go and see for yourself! Small menu, rather large portions and all very excellent options. This is authentic Cuban food, flavourful, spicy and the presentation was superb. It's a cozy restaurant, so I'd recommend a reservation. Prices are stunningly affordable (something I find Ottawa lacks). I'm heading back to try their sandwiches which also look amazingly delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Muy delicioso! The best restaurant in Ottawa!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Shhhhh...
Don't tell anyone about the Havana Café!

Best food, music, atmosphere, service and servers in Ottawa.

What a find!
In Old Ottawa South, just north of Billings Bridge you will find a wonderful oasis of a restaurant.
Don't let the size of restaurant fool you...
these chefs know how to cook!

Breakfast, lunch and dinner served, also a place to go for a café and a dessert, or a cold Beau's draft 'cerveza' on a hot day summer's day.

Really great vibe here too, sweet and sultry latin music playing softly in the background.

Huge portions of fresh and 'delicioso' food.

My vote is that this is one of the best restaurant's in Ottawa.
... Just don't tell anyone!

Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OccupyHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food is freshly made and excellent but the cafe atmosphere might not be to everyone's taste. The coffee grinder is very loud and goes constantly. The tables are very close together. The service is slow because the place is so busy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank candy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had heard great things about this little spot and finally managed to have lunch there. The restaurant is not large but the decor is very welcoming as was the service. The menu is not huge but offered a nice selection of authentic cuban dishes. Liked the fact that they have a few seats at the counter...nice retro feel!!
It was a warm day so the mojito lemonade was an especially nice way to start. The flavour of fresh mint is a lovely addition to lemonade in my book. Both my friend and I settled on the redo asedo (pork) with fried yucca, plantain, dirty rice and assorted vegetables. The meat was deliciously moist and very flavourful. Even the vegetables (peppers, asparagus) were cooked perfectly (tender crisp). The portions are generous and the prices are reasonable. The Cuban coffee is delicious.
Definitely returning to this little gem!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debcole22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Cafe and Catering also viewed

 
 

Been to Havana Cafe and Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing