We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Clean room with good facilities, including free wifi, desktop computer and printer and fully equipped kitchen. The breakfast options were good and complimentary. We enjoyed the snack packs to take away for the day which included fruit, cookies and water, it was a nice touch. The staff were helpful and the parking good. Only a short walk to the main attractions. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlBex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    506
    94
    38
    14
See reviews for
386
578
112
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

It would be going over old ground to repeat the comments made in so many other reviews but for what it provides close to the CBD and major attractions/features of a Capital City this place is phenomenal at the price. There is, however, one thing about which potential guests may wish to be aware, especially if they are light sleepers or trying to cope with a time change as we were on the first of our two stays when in Ottawa. The Elgin Street side of the property is adjacent to several pubs with outdoor seating and late closing and in hot weather this led to a lot of noise. Also, there is some background noise form air conditioning units. For our second stay, courtesy of the friendly staff enquiring about our stay when we checked out the first time, we were at the rear which cut out the noise of the “revellers” although there was still some aircon sound.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrieBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Big enough studio room 310, great welcoming staff, underground parking facility although comes at 15$ a day but convenient, nice hot breakfast, even a breakfast to go bag while you leave, a printer and a computer in every room, Sony Bravia TV- set, phone, a/c, mini kitchen with fridge and many, many others. It may be the only hotel equipped with everything any traveller would need... Will definitely stay again here on our next visit in Ottawa.

Thanks guys,
Guta 1962.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugurel-Corneli... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Guest Services at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 15, 2015
Thank you for your comments on the TripAdvisor. It is encouraging to know, that we are providing guests with services they value. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014

After a tiny walkup in Montreal that cost twice as much, we were ecstatic to find a full suite, reasonable parking, a wonderful staff, and location convenient to all we wanted to see. We easily walked downtown and to a great path along the river. Pubs nearby offered anything we could have wanted and nearby groceries could supply your needs if you wanted to use the full kitchen in the suite. Superb breakfast was included!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the Business Inn for the second time, the first time being >4 years ago. While it is not a fancy or high end hotel, once again I was extremely impressed by the service and all the included 'extras'. For $119/night, I got a large suite with separate bedroom and spacious living/dining room. Would highly recommend The Business Inn to anyone travelling to Ottawa, whether on business or with families.

PROS:
- Excellent value
- Excellent service, friendly staff
- Spacious rooms
- Well equipped kitchen
- Free laundry (they also provide detergent)
- Computer workstation with printer in every room
- Free Wifi (of course)
- Great location with lots within walking distance, including plenty of restaurants

CONS:
- Furniture/décor is a bit dated (but clean/well maintained)
- The air conditioning machine in the bedroom was quite noisy
- Rooms facing Elgin Street can be noisy on weekends

SUGGESTIONS:
- Would have loved to have a Nespresso machine in the room! A few tea selections in the room would have been nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomvula_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Huge apartment, great welcoming staff, underground parking facility although comes at 15$ a day but convenient, nice hot breakfast, even a breakfast to go bag while you leave, a printer and a computer in every room- may be the only hotel equipped with everything any traveller would need...

Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter100169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Property: The Business Inn & Suites
Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing