We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Everything about our stay at the Business Inn was great. The location, the service, the quality of bedding, towels, toiletries, and all other things that are for our use were excellent. Rooms are super clean and room service is great. The breakfast had an excellent variety. Great gym and awesome facility to do free laundry. This hotel is centrally located close to everything a visitor would need. An all around fantastic experience. Highly recommend. Would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Do not let the fact that the price of a room is somewhat on the economical side to fool you, and do not conclude about the interior just from the external view. On the contrary, what you get per $ is above and beyond expectations. A clean, wide, well equipped suite, with an excellent bed. Devoted personal service, a nice breakfast, and last but not least, the hotel is located 12 minutes walk (measured) from the Parliament and the downtown shopping area. In my opinion, the best choice Ottawa can offer.

Room Tip: Read my reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Business Inn in MacLaren Street is the perfect place for a short to medium term stay in Ottawa. With a full size kitchen and a spacious room the traveller can cook at home and spread out comfortably, however there is a wide range of well priced restaurants in the neighbourhood. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The price is very reasonable. A big plus is the free WiFi, but also a desktop computer, printer and paper are great additions. Close to all the attractions, I will definitely return and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: splash out on the Suites, the rate is very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie-Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is hotel is spotless. It is an older building but the cleanliness of it makes it so much better than some of the fancier places in the area. The rooms are spacious, there is a computer and printer in every room.
The gym is small but more than adequate, the equipment is always in good working order.
The staff are the real gems here, they are always so pleasant and very obliging.

Highly recommend this wonderful place with its great staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjejermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The price is very reasonable and the space of each unit is fantastic if you have any work to do-- a great dining room table, modest living room and huge bedroom, modest kitchen and a full-sized computer and desk in the living room.. Plus they serve a free hot breakfast on the third floor. Also well-located in terms of nearby restaurants, including Fresco, which serves lots of local and sustainably-sourced food, and a great Oxfam fair trade coffee shop right opposite--wayne r.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne300944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just finished my second stay at The Business Inn in Ottawa (Oct 24/13). Having stayed at a number of the other hotels in the same area of Ottawa, The Business Inn is easily my first choice. Both times, the rooms have been fantastic - clean, roomy, fully equipped with kitchen, modern large HD TV, etc. A full complimentary hot and cold breakfast each morning, along with the friendly staff, have made both stays as enjoyable as living on the road can be. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julius k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I also booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. When we first arrived I was a bit leary since it doesn't look real nice from the street. I agree with other reviewers that it is also a little difficult figuring out the parking. But it was worth the trouble. For the money, the room was very nice - large and comfortable. The kitchen with refrigerator really came in handy. Breakfast was good, especially if you like "made to order" omelets. My husband and I especially liked the "grab and go" breakfasts! They were bagged breakfasts stored in the fridge of the breakfast area. If I was going back to Ottawa for a long stay I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22deedee223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#12 of 68 in Ottawa
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
418 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing