We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We made a very last minute booking on Saturday 10PM on the internet. The entrance was non-spectacular. We arrived at the same time the booking from hotel.com came trough.

So far nothing special, as was expected for only $119 so conveniently located.
The surprise came when we opened the door and my wife asked "is that a pull-out couch?".
The kitchenette was almost as big as our kitchen and the dining room seated more people than we generally have for dinner. We did not measure the size of the TV, but it must have been more than 60". We finally did find a very comfortable bed in the adjacent bedroom with it's own TV.
Did the front desk made a mistake? They may have given us an upgrade, but the regular rate for the room I was told was still less than a regular room in downtown Ottawa.
Probably this hotel caters to diplomats who prefer security (better than one would normally see) and the ability to have a small conference with other people as the room is also equipped with a nice computer with internet and a printer. It must have been a special weekend rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
There are newer reviews for The Business Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great hotel for the price. We had an executive room which was spectacular. It had a small apartment feeling. The PC was a big surprise. Internet was very fast on both the computer and ipad. Bed was comfortable. Tv had many channels (including hd). There are many restaurants and stores in vicinity. One complain and advice for everybody: do not take rooms on lower floors overlooking Elgin. Our room 211 was at the corner above the main floor pub and was very, very noisy. I could't fall asleep until at least 1pm. Avoid last minute booking discount websites as they assign you the worst room in a complex. Lesson learnt. I will be back for sure but will ask for a quiet room this time.

Room Tip: Avoid room no. 211.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toskanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a nice hotel that when you first pull up you will think otherwise... Once you are in the door the staff is great....The rooms are huge and the amenities for business travelers are spectacular. We had a full desktop computer and printer to use at no charge. Lots of space and a great free breakfast that was a bonus as it was not included on our purchase from priceline... The indoor parking is nice and convenient. The hotel is very well located and you can walk to Parliament and all of the attractions of Ottawa... Lots of nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: higher floors are not so close to the street and may be quieter but even our second floor room was q...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begoldbelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nazia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and efficient staff. Huge studio room, full kitchen, good sized bathroom. Desktop computer with a printer in the room. You could live there. The only small criticism of the room is that our room over looked Elgin St which is a very busy and at times noisy street. We were on the second floor and could have done with some shears to draw over the huge windows. Excellent breakfast included in the price alas served on paper plates with plastic cutlery. I doubt you would find better value in central Ottawa.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed at The Business Inn in Ottawa. The hotel exceeded our expecations and we really enjoyed our stay. First, the location is perfect. It is situated right downown (Elgin & MacLaren). This is just blocks from all the attractions in Ottawa; Parliment, Musems Sparks St. mall. The service staff went our of their way to help us find what we were looking for and had great ideas for sightseeing. Next; the value was second to none; the room was HUGE, with more amenaties then expected. There were two massive 50" flascreen TVs, a computer terminal with printer, right in suite! The wi-fi internet is FREE with the room and was much fastwer than what I have at home (impressive). Even the mattress was above par; it was so conmortable and soft, I Islept like a baby and awoke refeshed. There was also a FREE complimentary breakfast in the morning; this included made to order brakfast sandwiches and hasbrowns! All for the very reasonable price of $128 a night. The staff was attentive and cleaned the room with care. We arrived home, after a long day of sightseeing and the staff had arranged my daughters stuffed animals on the bed, she got a kick out of that. To top it all off, the resturant; MacLearn's was fabulous with pool tables and giant screen TVs for watching the hockey game. I was sad to leave, we had such an excellent stay. With value like this I would whole hartedly recommend to anyone staying in Ottawa; family, business or simply vacation. Well done Business Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Staff service and features are excellent. Lots of small things add up. Everything is there in your room = computer, printer, paper, large flat screen TVs. comfortable bed, lots of pillows, etc. Hand shower head instead of those annoying fixed ones. 6 free laundry washers and 6 dryers on 4th floor - even the soap is free. Breakfast is not fancy but very good and made to order and free; there is a fridge full of bottled water and paper coffee cups to take with.

And they listen and notice what you do - for example, I always move the tissue box and waste basket from bathroom to bedroom for my convenience. All hotels move it back each day so I need to move it again daily - but this hotel left it where I needed it and gave me another box and basket in the bathroom.

6 real pillows on the bed, not those printed useless ones. Bed is very high with super thick mattress, very quiet rooms.

Small issue was bathroom sink was blocked at my late check-in, I called and they fixed it the next morning.

Another nice touch is they always open the electric doors from the front desk when they see you come and go. Taxi right in front, or they call for you, most wait time was 3 minutes, not 10 or 20 minutes.

Price and location also very good for restaurants etc.

I will definitely go back; a real hidden treasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaysways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,136 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $95 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing