We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nazia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and efficient staff. Huge studio room, full kitchen, good sized bathroom. Desktop computer with a printer in the room. You could live there. The only small criticism of the room is that our room over looked Elgin St which is a very busy and at times noisy street. We were on the second floor and could have done with some shears to draw over the huge windows. Excellent breakfast included in the price alas served on paper plates with plastic cutlery. I doubt you would find better value in central Ottawa.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed at The Business Inn in Ottawa. The hotel exceeded our expecations and we really enjoyed our stay. First, the location is perfect. It is situated right downown (Elgin & MacLaren). This is just blocks from all the attractions in Ottawa; Parliment, Musems Sparks St. mall. The service staff went our of their way to help us find what we were looking for and had great ideas for sightseeing. Next; the value was second to none; the room was HUGE, with more amenaties then expected. There were two massive 50" flascreen TVs, a computer terminal with printer, right in suite! The wi-fi internet is FREE with the room and was much fastwer than what I have at home (impressive). Even the mattress was above par; it was so conmortable and soft, I Islept like a baby and awoke refeshed. There was also a FREE complimentary breakfast in the morning; this included made to order brakfast sandwiches and hasbrowns! All for the very reasonable price of $128 a night. The staff was attentive and cleaned the room with care. We arrived home, after a long day of sightseeing and the staff had arranged my daughters stuffed animals on the bed, she got a kick out of that. To top it all off, the resturant; MacLearn's was fabulous with pool tables and giant screen TVs for watching the hockey game. I was sad to leave, we had such an excellent stay. With value like this I would whole hartedly recommend to anyone staying in Ottawa; family, business or simply vacation. Well done Business Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Staff service and features are excellent. Lots of small things add up. Everything is there in your room = computer, printer, paper, large flat screen TVs. comfortable bed, lots of pillows, etc. Hand shower head instead of those annoying fixed ones. 6 free laundry washers and 6 dryers on 4th floor - even the soap is free. Breakfast is not fancy but very good and made to order and free; there is a fridge full of bottled water and paper coffee cups to take with.

And they listen and notice what you do - for example, I always move the tissue box and waste basket from bathroom to bedroom for my convenience. All hotels move it back each day so I need to move it again daily - but this hotel left it where I needed it and gave me another box and basket in the bathroom.

6 real pillows on the bed, not those printed useless ones. Bed is very high with super thick mattress, very quiet rooms.

Small issue was bathroom sink was blocked at my late check-in, I called and they fixed it the next morning.

Another nice touch is they always open the electric doors from the front desk when they see you come and go. Taxi right in front, or they call for you, most wait time was 3 minutes, not 10 or 20 minutes.

Price and location also very good for restaurants etc.

I will definitely go back; a real hidden treasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaysways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Huge room, super clean, 5min walk to Parliament, friendly staff, great breakfast, outstanding price for a downtown hotel.....this is the best value in a hotel I've had in years. Anyone coming to Ottawa for any reason should stay here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TarbotMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Business Inn in Ottawa is an excellent choice both for people visiting for just one or two days and business travelers checking in for an extended stay. It is conveniently located a few minutes walk from the main shopping strip and all major sights. Still the location in a side street makes it reasonably quiet. Parking is available at a reasonable 17 CAD per day on the hotel's own parking lot or in their parking garage.

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The equipment inside the rooms leaves absolutely nothing to be desired. Our room sported a full kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker and all the essential tableware. Also, we had a 46" TV with cable TV, which is something I have never seen before in a hotel of this price range. They even provide a full Personal Computer with printer. If you stay for an extended period of time, they offer to ship a webcam to your family so you can Skype with them. If you bring your own tech equipment, there is free WiFi with the best speed I have ever experienced in any hotel (14 MBit down / 6.5 MBit up). From the room, we had access to a balcony with a view of the city.
The only thing we did not like too much was the rather soft bed but that is really a matter of individual preference.

There are washing machines and dryers available to all guests free of charge on the fourth floor. If you need dry cleaning, they will have it done for you at no markup.

Staff are friendly and very efficient. I had my car parked in a tow away zone for check in and got my room key and parking spot allocated in record time so I could rush back out immediately and move it to the parking lot. Also they very good breakfast, with made to order breakfast muffins and a large variety of food to chose from.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid rooms on the fourth floor next to the laundry area as washing machines and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandmannX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Comfy bed.Full kitchen. Walking distance to attractions. Delicious hot breakfast. Great hotel experience!

Love the full kitchen and full fridge. Can easily provide our own meals for our vacation if we choose.

This hotel exceeded my expectations. We selected it because of its price and location. I was certainly not expecting a beautiful apartment unit that provided all the amenities of home.

So glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: The suites are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
2,153 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $84 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing