We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Downtown Location For Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Affordable Downtown Location For Families”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family stayed here two nights over the Canada Day Long Weekend. We were looking for an affordable suite with a full kitchen and separate bedroom as we have two small children. A colleague recommended Albert at Bay, but after finding The Business Inn on TA and comparing nightly rates ($128 vs. $199) it was an easy decision.

Location: Very central near Elgin & Somerset – a short walk from a lot of the major downtown attractions. We walked everywhere all weekend – lots of places to eat and shop nearby.

Check In: The hotel was 100% full when we arrived around 4pm and I think the staff was overwhelmed. They had posted signs at the door announcing that both parking lots were full. There was one person checking in ahead of me, and when he asked about parking the clerk responded “Didn’t you see the signs?” He told him he had, and then asked where to park “Not here.” Luckily another, more friendly clerk arrived, and directed him to a city lot a block away at MacLaren and Metcalfe. The friendly guy checked me in, and reiterated the parking story even though I had called ahead to reserve a spot. I asked him if the play pen I had asked for was in the room and he told me it should be (it wasn’t – I had to call for it a few hours later.) Note – Parking at the city lot was $28 for 2 nights.

Room: We had a Signature Suite room - 410. Unfortunately it did not have a balcony. The room was well equipped with a full kitchen (stove, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, but no dishwasher). In the main living space there was a 4 seat dining table, desk with PC/Printer, arm chair, fold out couch, and large flat screen TV. The separate bedroom had a dresser and another large TV. There were only two large towels in the room for the four of us, and when I called the front desk to request more I was informed of a maid cart that is left at the end of each hallway where I could find more. Overall – The room was very large and well equipped, but tired. There was a slight musty smell, and the furniture is old. It’s adequate, but definitely not luxury.

Amenities: One thing that sets this hotel apart is their extras. The free continental breakfast is a huge plus. The breakfast room is on the 3rd floor, and they are well equipped for you to take things back to your room. Free laundry services, lots of TV channels. Parking – if you can get it – is cheap.

We did not bother with maid service, as we were only their two nights. For check out, they offer an express checkout option when you check in, so they just slide the bill under your door the night before checkout and charge the CC you have on file.

One big problem the hotel had is that one of their two elevators crapped out on Canada day. When we got back to the hotel after the fireworks, there was a big line of people waiting for the single elevator. Similar issues the next morning as 60 rooms were trying to check out.

Bottom Line: We would probably stay here again for a long weekend – 2 or 3 nights max – provided the price gap vs. Albert at Bay was the same. The positives of the low price, large well equipped room, and location offset the negatives of the tired building, small hassles (parking, elevators) and mediocre staff. I would not recommend to family or friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeInThornhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    452
    86
    37
    13
See reviews for
343
516
106
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax NS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Extraordinary find for budget minded travellers. Well equipped and centrally located. Decor is rather masculine, with reproduction antique and other dark furniture. If you can't live with a bit of chipped paint for the duration you;re there, you can go elsewhere and spend double the amount of money. Very helpful staff, computer, printer and paper supplied. Full kitchen, comfortable bed, downtown location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Totally agree with other reviews of this hotel. We were visiting Ottawa on holidays and couldn't believe how reasonably priced this hotel was. We had a big room with comfortable bed, breakfast and free laundry including laundry powder. Can't beat the location - close to the Canal, Museums, Parliament, restaurants, etc. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were attending a weekend event in Ottawa and decided to arrive a couple of days early to take in the Van Gogh Up Close exhibition at the National Gallery, and stay over until Monday - our reservation was for 5 nights. On the drive up, we decided to return home Sunday afternoon instead and when we arrived at The Business Inn the staff were very efficient at making the change to our booking - no fuss at all, which we appreciated. That was a theme throughout our stay - exceptional service from the staff, very pleasant and accommodating. For example, there was a problem with the bathroom faucet - the handles on the taps were loose and wouldn't turn the valves properly, making it difficult to open or close them. I mentioned it to the desk staff in the evening as we were on our way out, after they had become almost impossible to use, and the next morning while we were out of the room they fixed the faucets - making us very happy.

The event had arranged a special rate with another (conventional) hotel which was across the street from the venue, but The Business Inn was well located and close enough to walk there easily (as well as to the National Gallery, the ByWard Market and down to The Glebe for the Saturday night event party). As well, the rate we got booking a Signature Suite online was only $9 more than the event had arranged for the other hotel, and for that we got a 1 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen, dining room, living room with a Sony Bravia 46" flat-screen TV (with digital cable & DVD player) and separate bedroom (with another flat-screen TV!). The suites are also equipped with a PC (including software) and laser printer, hooked up to wired internet, plus wifi for our own laptops & mobile devices - all included in the room rate, not extra like at the other hotel.

Parking is available in an outdoor lot ($11/day) or in underground parking ($15/day) with full in/out privileges - we went for the underground parking, which was a bargain.

On top of that, a continental breakfast is included - a nice touch.

We were very pleased with our stay - it was the first time we had been to The Business Inn, and can highly recommend it, particularly if you are staying for more than a couple of nights. Having lots of room was great - we were able to have friends from the event over for food and drinks, and the full kitchen made life much easier to deal with some dietary constraints that would have made eating in restaurants for the whole stay difficult.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed in town for 4 nights at one of the best values we have ever had. Huge suite. Wonderfully comfortable king size bed. We got a great suite for much less than we have paid for just a basic room. We used the full kitchen instead of taking advantage of the free breakfast in the morning because it was a bit limited - bagels, toast, croissants, fruit, cereals. Nothing hot available, but they did offer breakfast in a bag if you wanted to take it with you. I would recommend it. The free Internet, computer and printer was very handy.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garnet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I had a very good experience at The Business Inn, the staff was very friendly and helpful the rooms were clean. Also the location could not be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I was staying in Ottawa for three weeks and was scheduled here by company. I was presently surprised . This was by no means luxury as the decor needed some work and so did the amenities, but given the price I was extremely happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasicakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Property: The Business Inn & Suites
Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing