We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Ottawa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value in Ottawa!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Business Inn is located just off one of the main north-to-south drags of Ottawa. It is located near several pubs, casual eateries, and a wine store. Parking is available in a lot for about $11 per night and underground for about $15. The rooms are clean and huge! Complete with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom with name-brand toiletries, kitchenette, flat screen and computer, we were left shocked by how great of a value TBI was. The location is a bit south of the market area, but the walk was very pleasant and we were able to see the Rideau Canal and several government buildings along the way. We were there during the last day of Winterlude, too, so there were many people out and about-- it was very nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel-- safe area, clean, pleasant staff, comfortable in all ways.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    466
    86
    38
    13
See reviews for
354
537
110
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is the second stay at this hotel. The price is extremely good and this time we had a huge one bedroom suite with fully equipped kitchen (stove and oven as well as a micro and large refrigerator), large flat screen T.V. in the living room as well as one in the bedroom, a computer with printer and paper and free internet access. The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff very helpful. The included breakfast was much more than is found in most hotels. Parking was extra but the price was not exorbitant. The hotel is very centrally located to the downtown area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Great location and huge rooms. We stay here every time we are in Ottawa (usually once a month or so) its like our mini home away from home. But wish they would fix the shower taps in 1102 ;) dial faicet kept turning itself, weird, but went from a comfortable temperature to extremely hot quickly.. No fun with soap in your eyes! Lol.
Will continue to stay here anyways cause you can't beat the location, rooms, staff and local nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenrthrnboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during September 2011. Generally were were extremely happy with this choice.
Service was great, we arrived early and were allowed to check in. We were also allowed to check out late as we had an afternoon VIA Rail train out of Ottawa. Staff were also helpful with recommendations and information.
The room we stayed in was huge. Almost as big as our apartment. It was a large open plan room with bed, living/TV area, dining area, small office and kitchen. The attached bathroom was a decent size too. Beds were clean and comfortable.
Included in the stay was free continental breakfast each morning, free access to the internet from the office in the room, and free laundry facilities, all which came in very handy.
Location was OK but we found ourselves spending most of our time near the parliament buildings or Byward Market areas, about 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. There were some good restaurants nearby but not much else.
Price was great too. We booked early but got an decent rate. Considering the inclusions and the size of the room it was excellent value for money.
Overall I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is by far the best place to stay in Ottawa if your looking for an extended stay. Every room has a full kitchen, dinning room table, etc. Rooms are clean, staff helpfull and the sports bar on the main floor is absolutely a must for any sports fan. In addition to big screen TVs around the bar, there are numerous pool tables.

Located just approximatley a 15 minute walk from Parliment Building and outdoor farmer's market, this is a superb place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing towards the back instead of the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the Business Inn in Ottawa in November 2011 and we were very pleased. The hotel is on a busy street with lots to do and places to eat. All the staff were very helpful, the room was very clean and the bed was very, very comfortable indeed! We will stay there next time we are in Ottawa for sure! J&B Halifax

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Green_Eyes_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
431 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This may be the best dollar value in Ottawa. It is an excellent hotel with large suites that have a Business Centre in each room. I really like the location because I enjoy the pubs and resturants on Elgin. The staff are excellent and overal I have nothing but good things to say about this property and I would stay here on all my trips to Ottawa

Room Tip: Rooms Facing Elgin have some Street Noise on Week ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Property: The Business Inn & Suites
Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing