We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great service, nice atmosphere”

Pinelopi's Greek Kitchen
Ranked #152 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've eaten here twice and, both times, my companions and I were impressed with the restaurant. The food was delicious and came in generous portions and the service was friendly and attentive. It was a bit expensive for Greek food, but the portions and quality of food made up for it. Both the beef and lamb souvlaki were tender and tasty, and the chicken with lemon, marinated in rosemary and thyme was delicious. The Classic salad didn't have enough cucumbers; I enjoyed the Greek salad more -- and it was less expensive.

Definitely a place worth going to. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cutetreefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    25
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pinelopi's, for friendly service and excellent food”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Jean and I have experienced many fine lunches and dinners at Pinelopi's in the past couple of years. We have introduced family and friends and have never heard a negative word spoken about either the food or the service. Tonight was no exception. I had the smelts, which are the best I've had anywhere, and the rib steak. Perfection! Jean started with the hummus and followed this up with the Greek salad with chicken. Tonight was kind of frantic, with most tables occupied and a steady stream of diners entering with obvious anticipation. The service remained calm and efficient and no-one was kept waiting.

I note that abkw231 has indicated his/her dissatisfaction with the Greek salad, criticizing excessive oiliness and a 90% content of tomatoes. I have ordered and enjoyed the Greek salad many times and have yet to find more than two or three slices of tomato in it. As for excessive quantities of oil, rubbish! I seriously doubt that this reviewer has ever eaten at Pinelopi's, I think that he/she is writing on behalf of a rival restaurant or is simply confused.

I write these words because I truly and honestly enjoy the food, the service and the atmosphere at Pinelopi's. It is an excellent family restaurant with authentic Greek cuisine and it is priced competitively, not excessively.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I now have gone there 3 times for lunch and 1 for Supper.

The price is very reasonable and the service is excellant and family-like.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Service - Excellent (our server was a young man and we had a very attractive young lady with us. (hmmmmm).

Greek Salad - very oily, mostly (90%) tomatoes, not much taste.
Side dishes - Beans cooked beyond recognition (the was the same with all the dishes that we ordered. They actually tasted like canned green beans.
Main dishes - tasteless.


Will not go back.
$68.00 for 3 people - no drinks. Not worth the money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abkw231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Best Greek is Barrhaven”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Title says it all. Eat here! Food is fresh and tastes like home. I would highly recomend.

Prices are pretty high but hey once in a while spending money on good food is fine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paolo182002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinelopi's Greek Kitchen also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Pinelopi's Greek Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing