We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Ottawa”
Review of Ashbury House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashbury House B&B
Ranked #6 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the warm, personal hospitality of the owners, Charmaine & George, to the delicious breakfasts and comfortable beds, I can't say enough good things about Ashbury House. It is our favourite place to stay in Ottawa. It is close to the canal and Carleton University, in the interesting Glebe neighbourhood, and not far from downtown. For a family, the 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor is economical and provides a kitchen and living area to make one's stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palliativenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 67 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

With a sick family member in hospital, and living out of town - I called to see if there were rooms available at the Ashbury B&B. I was called back by Charmaine, who learned of the situation and was absolutely amazing. She advised me that she didn't have any rooms available, but proceeded to call her colleagues in the area to find us a place to stay. So rare, and unbelievably refreshing. So I can't speak to the bed and breakfast, but I CAN say that the owners' heart are clearly in the right place. Thank you Charmaine.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank AuntMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The only thing that hold me back from giving this place a "5" is the lack of our room's temperature control. There are radiator heaters but they are probably a part of one common heating system for the entire house. We are from Thailand where Winter is 15-25 C, and the night-time temperature during the period of our stay is around 0 C. While this may be just right for most Canadian guests in the other rooms, it was so cold for us that we required a little use of heater. The common heating system wouldn't support this and accordingly, our sleep was a little less than perfect.
We stayed on the third floor, the family apartment. A lot of space, clean, and completely equipped. All the rooms function completely like those of a well decorated house. Breakfasts were great. George and Charmaine are really nice hosts. The location is also great, everywhere we need to go is within a comfortable distance, including convenient stores, gas station, and laundry shop. Overall, we are very happy with Ashbury House. Recommended.

Room Tip: Family apartment is truly a furnished home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Charmaine and George are the most wonderful, truly honest and trusting people that we have met in a very long time. They are a breath of fresh air and energize everyone around them. Their B and B is a welcomed haven for those of us who have hectic lives. We will definitely return again and have been telling all our friends about Ashbury House.
Thank you Charmaine and George for a truly wonderful stay.

Terry and Karen

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canuckbethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful, charming home in the heart of the Glebe district in Ottawa. The Glebe is wonderful and this B&B became our refuge. The hosts were simply wonderful and made us feel so welcome. Loved the warm apple and pear pie that was waiting for us after a long day of traveling. Our room was quaint and we loved that it had a balcony to sit on and have a glass of wine and watch the world go by. Breakfasts were excellent as was the conversation with the owners and the other guests. Can't beat the location as you can walk to numerous restaurants, pubs, an LCBO, and shops on hip Bank St. We will be back!

Room Tip: we loved the room with the balcony overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craiger9929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jcdamours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
Thank canada-mail-2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
1.2 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
1.3 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
1.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbury House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbury House B&B

Address: 303 First Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: $84 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide B&B accommodation as well as a furnished family apartment with kitchen. All guest rooms have ensuite bath rooms. Guests rave about the quality of the experience at Ashbury House, the comfort of the rooms including the beds, gourmet breakfasts, inspiring conversations, apple pie, Ceylon tea and antique furnishings. Ashbury House has been featured live on TV.An example of guest feedback: "Thank you again for an absolutely perfect stay at Ashbury House. I think you go beyond the exceptional in your hospitality and I know this is the rule and I was not an exception because the cab driver asked me about my stay. When I responded with superlatives, he told me it was the same with every fare he picked up there." Joan – California ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing