We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meat Pie with Rocks” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shawarma's King

Shawarma's King
Ranked #710 of 2,709 Restaurants in Ottawa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meat Pie with Rocks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went there once and enjoyed the mixed BBQ Platter although the potatoes and rice tasted like they were made a few days before. I ordered from there yesterday and they were out of Samosas so I got the meat pies instead. The first one I ate about half then bit into something that felt like a rock - ouch! I tossed it and tried another and got the same result on the second bite. I spit it out and looked at the culprit. Sure looks like a rock to me. Never again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love it....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've had food here many times...I just ordered the mixed shawarma dinner for 2 and 3 skewers of kafta kebab, and it was excellent. It fed two adults, two kids, and we have enough left over for at least one more meal. The sandwiches are great for one person, but the plates or family dinners are where the values at. Lots of Middle Eastern folks eating here, too, so you know it's good. I love this place. I ordered take out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hope you love garlic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a long cold walk we finally reached our destination. The food was good but meat portions were on the smaller size but filled up on the rice, humus and rice. But the garlic sauce was great - very strong bordering burning sensation when eating it which the way I like it. Actually it was still performing aromatherapy the next day. The service was ok but not very friendly or courteous and should learn to smile. The place was old and can certainly use an upgrade. If your there in winter don't sit in the area close to the door.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shawarma King on Rideau: cold bony meat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'm not sure if this one on Rideau is the same chain or different as the almost-identically named one on Bank. I went for takeout, and was too lazy to walk in the cold to Shawarma Palace--never again! The meat after my short walk home (inside bread, inside foil, inside my bag) was stone cold, and had bones in it. Service not very friendly or prompt, even though the place was empty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SingoutToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ordered takeout, food arrived cold.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Take out was delivered 10 minutes after promised delivery time and my food was cold. The wings were overdone and hard, the salad was mostly croutons.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ah416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shawarma's King also viewed

 

Been to Shawarma's King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing