We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain dinner!”

IKEA Superstore Restaurant
Ranked #637 of 2,744 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Swedish
Restaurant details
carleton place
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A bargain dinner!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The other day, my husband and I were shopping at Ikea, and since it was close to supper, we ate at the restaurant. For under thirty dollars, in total, we had a salmon dinner that included veggies with a maple sauce for me and meatballs and mashed potatoes for hubby (I would have purchased a salad as well, but he didn't). We washed it down with wine for me and a beer for him, plus a shared dessert (chocolate truffle square - deliciously rich). I think I will do this more often. Although I was used to eating lunch at Ikea, I had never before thought of having supper there. From now on, especially when travelling, I would consider this option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dramagal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'm giving this a 3-star rating, since for a cafeteria-type eatery, their food is quite decent. But, if comparing to a dine-in restaurant, then this would be down around a 2-star.

Atmosphere is interesting - you're eating inside a GIANT furniture store!

All in all, a decent, quick, cheap meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trillium_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
283 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Ikea cafeteria: OK”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The setup reminds me of a university cafeteria! Only with less selection and a half-hour long lineup, and we didn't even go on a busy day. My brother had the meatballs & fries & gravy & lingon berry sauce and salad and some kind of spinach pancake. He said that all of it it was good. I tried the soups which were pretty good (mushroom and also vegetable). Didn't like the bun - too crunchy and a little sweet. Also I tried the almond torte. It was alright - not too sweet and tasted a lot like cream.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for an inexpensive meal while shopping.”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The IKEA restaurant has expanded to over 600 seats and has a very good selection of inexpensive food choices. From simple muffin & coffee to a full meal like meatballs and potatoes there would seem to be something for everyone. The meals are so good, and inexpensive, that there are often a group of people waiting at opening time to have breakfast before starting their shopping.

Service is cafeteria, self serve style although I did notice staff assisting some customers (elderly and mothers with kids) who needed an extra hand.

The decor is simple and is all IKEA furniture that can be purchased on-site.

A set aside children's area with smaller tables ringed with larger ones provides a good area for parents to take a break with their youngsters. The aisles within the restaurant are wide enough to allow for negotiating both shopping carts as well as strollers and wheelchairs.

There are also areas with couches and side tables which is a nice touch.

A separate take-out snack bar on-site seems to be very popular.
As well most of the food offerings in the restaurant and snack bar area is available for bulk purchasing on-site for you to prepare and enjoy at home.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cayemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IKEA Superstore Restaurant also viewed

 
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Been to IKEA Superstore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing