We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Ottawa East
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
TORONTO
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Room”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Positives: Very convenient location, large rooms, clean, onsite Starbucks, mini mart and large rooms, friendly staff; rooms include mini fridge and microwave.
Downside: Not within walking distance of restaurants or other amenities. When we went the outdoor parking lot was a skating rink and not ususable so we had to park underground. Underground parking was also used for storage so not very impressive. Care should be taken of the exterior as well as the interior of the hotel as everything makes an impression on your guests.
Starbucks can get expensive with a family of four (approx. $40-50.00 for breakfast.

If you have WorkPerks from Venngo use this to get upgraded to a King Suite, Breakfast coupons and additional vouchers. You might have to quote the Perks number but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMAICANToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for your comments regarding our Ottawa hotel. You've pointed out so many of the positive amenities of our hotel in Ottawa. We do recognize your observations of our underground parking with respect to storage. With the addition of our hotel to this property, storage options and solutions have been things we strive to improve. Thank you for pointing it out. Great to hear you're using WorkPerks! For those not members, we have packages that include breakfast that help to offset the cost of breakfast as an additional expense.
Look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    226
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
185
122
18
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Parents & us two Kidz, big CLEAN room, king size bed + sofa bed for me. Pool & hot tub on the 15th floor, with view of the City. We booked very late, so all the down town locations, with pricy parking, were booked out for Sat nite. 5 min drive - two exits on the highway - free parking downtown on the w/e's - we did not have a problem, ie never paid for parking... Didn't try the restaurant @ hotel , Dunn's diner on Elgin (220) and Somerset was decent down Town, Oriental House (266 elgin st) nearby was really good with take out, very honest, but so is every thing in Ottawa, so friendly we had a Family friendly holiday.
Front desk were very helpful and friendly, Thank you...

Room Tip: Free parking downtown on the w/e, try near Somerset - on Elgin... in Feb... everybody was really fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yipeenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a recent business trip to Ottawa. The hotel was great!! The service was excellent - all the staff are very friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were easy and fast.
The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The room I got was also great because it came with a small fridge and microwave - which were nice for preparing food when I didn't want to leave the room.
The fitness center has a decent number of good quality cardio-machines. They are set up so you look out the windows when you exercise.
The restaurant in the hotel was enjoyable. It offers a good selection of food and drinks.
I will come to this hotel again, when I return to Ottawa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnsue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. We're very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. Just so you know for future stays, all of our guest rooms have a mini-fridge and microwave. The fitness centre you referred to is open 24 hours a day.
Look forward to seeing you with us again.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spacious room, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Pool was small but still enjoyable. Free, heated underground parking is a plus in minus 27 weather. Great location, by car, to Winterlude events, Museums and points of interest in Ottawa. Shopping close by. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: City view on upper floor had gorgeous view of sunset! Microwave and fridge in rooms was a great bon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Our thanks for your time in submitting a review of our hotel. We're glad to know you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for Winterlude and loved it. If you have a car, this location is very convenient and has underground parking. It's very close to the highway and easy to find. The hotel is just minutes away from shopping malls and downtown Ottawa is just a 3-5 minute drive north. The rooms are also very generous in size, tastefully decorated, well appointed, and very CLEAN! There's also a wet bar in the room. The swimming pool is a little on the small side but it has a fantastic panoramic view of Ottawa from the top floor of the building. Service was friendly. Breakfast in the bistro by the main lobby is decently priced, but Tim Horton`s is only a 2 minute drive away if you want real cheap. We will definitely stay here again for our next trip to Ottawa.

Room Tip: The ice machine was very noisy; ask for a room located from it. If you`re staying during the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have now stayed at this location three times. Each time the service from the time I checked in until the time I left was Excellent. Rooms are clean and comfortable and quiet considering you are next to the 417. Getting breakfast in the morning was a little slow but it was good once I got it. Great place to stay when Im in Ottawa on business

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa East. We recognize your comment regarding breakfast and so you know, this is something we continue to work on improving.
Looking forward to having you with us again so you can see our improvements in action!
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Feb 16-18. Rates were a bit high, but it was also the Family Day long weekend, and the last weekend of Winterlude, so that's probably why. Check in was quick and front desk staff were very polite and helpful. Hotel and rooms were clean. Free indoor underground parking kept the car warm and snow away! Good sleep in comfortable beds and very quiet room. The room, on the first floor, was large with a long kitchen counter, sink, fridge, and microwave - ideal for a small family that might want to prepare some food in the room. The only minor complaint would be the chaos and noise created by a wedding in the attached conference centre, but that was far away from the rooms. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ottawa East, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Our genuine thank you's for sharing your experience in our new hotel! Your thoughts are correct - the rates were a little higher than normal due to it being the last weekend of Winterlude. I'm glad you noticed the things we take pride in - our amazing front desk, clean rooms and overall comfortable stay. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
1.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,027 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#38 of 67 in Ottawa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ottawa East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa East

Property: Courtyard Ottawa East
Address: 200 Coventry Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa East 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It Pays to Book Direct for the best rates and special Marriott Rewards privileges. Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa East is a brand new hotel, opened in March 2012. We are conveniently located at the corner of the Vanier Parkway and Coventry Rd., just off Hwy. 417 and minutes from downtown Ottawa. We offer complimentary parking and hi-speed internet access. All 397 of our stylish and uncommonly spacious guest rooms offer a mini-fridge, microwave and wet bar. Located on the 15th floor, check out our fitness centre open 24 hours. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from here and in our pool/whirlpool area also on the 15th floor. The Bistro restaurant is open throughout the day serving Starbucks coffee and fresh, healthy options. No matter what your time allows, you'll have options to grab and go or sit and let us serve you. Come and see us! You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing