We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Ottawa East
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a brand new hotel. All the latest conveniences, including free, underground parking. The room my husband and I were in was the largest hotel room I have ever had. It was at least 1000 sq ft. The beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    203
    47
    14
    5
See reviews for
175
110
17
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room was large size very nicely done. The bed was a pleasure to sleep. The shower was new a clean. The shower head is great. The hotel was very great experience for me.
The restaurant down stairs is a different story. Micro Wave oven food at a 5 star price. My food was cold and frozen in the middle. When I complained the manger was very nice to me and offer to give me a certificate for next time. Thanks but not going there again, not even for free.

Room Tip: Great hotel, go out for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice modern facility, very clean and modern. We took an executive room with a king bed. There are 6 of these per floor and 3 abut the elevators (ours was one) and you can hear the elevators all day which is like a high pitched whine. One of the 3 elevators broke during our stay (not the one abutting our room unfortunately) which made the issue worse. It wasn't that loud just loud enough to be annoying. They neglected to make up our room on Sunday. The maid came at 9AM and I asked her to come back later which she never did. I had to make the bed and tidy up since we had company coming over. The staff was very apologetic and brought some clean towels and coffee, The restaurant is very spartan with a limited but quite good selection. They serve Starbucks coffee and it would not surprise me if Starbucks ran it as well. The pool and spa on the top floor are very nice with gorgeous views. There is ample free parking and free internet as well. The room was very spacious and except for the elevator noise was quite nice. There are 3 other executive rooms opposite the elevators which may be quieter except for people making noise waiting for the elevator. The facility connects to a convention center which if there is an event booked would make the hotel very busy (it was empty when we were there).

Room Tip: If you select an executive room see if the noise of the elevator that abuts it is bothersome. If so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thundarr357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay, staff is first class, everything was perfect the room was better than expected. We will go back again. the hotel is in a good location as there is so much to do close by, wifi is the fastest i have ever hooked up to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is brand new. I would swear that I was the first guest to use the room. Everything was immaculate. Large room decorated in tans and dark reds. Large flat screen TV. Mini-kitchen with bar fridge, sink and microwave. Coffee maker. Large bathroom with the standard amenities. Good work area with free Wi-Fi. Bed and pillows were very comfortable.
Check-in was fine. Free parking in an indoor garage.

Stuff that bugged me:
The parking area for the hotel in the garage is 2 levels down in the back and there are a huge number of pillars that make everything feel closed-in. Entry/egress is less than convenient.
Access to the elevator is through a door that's hard to use when you are loaded down with luggage.
They use compact neon lighting in all the fixtures in the room and they've chosen a very blue/white light. I found it institutional and cold.
I knew that I was right next to the 417 so I asked for a quiet room and they gave me one that was at the end of the hall facing the Riverside Drive exit ramp from the 417. I could hear traffic from 5:30 am. If that was a quiet room, I'd hate to be in a noisy one.
Their free in-room coffee maker only makes 1 cup at a time and it was only stocked with a single serving of regular coffee. I couldn't have a second cup and if I had traveled with a companion, one of us would have been out of luck.
Overall the hotel was acceptable but I'm not sure it's worth the premium over the Hampton Inn, owned by the same company, next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard for a week and we were impressed.
Bran new,super clean, very spacious, nicely decorated.
Staff very kind.Easy check-in & check out.
Newspaper every morning, free wi-fi, work station,good size flatscreen.Recycling bin.
Walking distance to the St-Laurent shopping center (about 10 minutes walk).
We had a view on the Stadium (and the highway).
Free underground parking.
Fitness center,restaurant,Strabucks coffee...
This hotel has it all if you don't want to be downtown.

Go for it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NG_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is relatively new. It is about 10 minutes from downtown Ottawa, not at walking distance you will need a car, public transportation or a taxi (fare around $17 CAD each way). The hotel staff is very nice and friendly. The hotel is located next to a minor league baseball stadium and it was built on my opinion to host big conventions and events. The room is very clean and the bathroom is impeccable clean, the room is big and very comfortable. The breakfast was not included on my rate, but the local restaurant has a very good and economic breakfast menu (coffee is free). Internet was included and the parking is free. I am really impressed with this Court Yard by Marriot hotel. Highly recommended, if you do not need to stay in downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ottawa East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa East

Property: Courtyard Ottawa East
Address: 200 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa East 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It Pays to Book Direct for the best rates and special Marriott Rewards privileges. Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa East is a brand new hotel, opened in March 2012. We are conveniently located at the corner of the Vanier Parkway and Coventry Rd., just off Hwy. 417 and minutes from downtown Ottawa. We offer complimentary parking and hi-speed internet access. All 397 of our stylish and uncommonly spacious guest rooms offer a mini-fridge, microwave and wet bar. Located on the 15th floor, check out our fitness centre open 24 hours. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from here and in our pool/whirlpool area also on the 15th floor. The Bistro restaurant is open throughout the day serving Starbucks coffee and fresh, healthy options. No matter what your time allows, you'll have options to grab and go or sit and let us serve you. Come and see us! You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing