We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dry-rub BBQ!!!”

Fatboys Southern Smokehouse
Ranked #45 of 3,257 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fatboys Southern Smokehouse combines southern hospitality, biker ambiance, and good 'ol fashioned, slow and low cooked BBQ. Ready for some good, home cookin'? We're waiting for you at Fatboys!
Reviewed June 2, 2018

Our dry-rub BBQ dinner, chopped BBQ chicken sandwich, mac & cheese, collard greens, and corn-bread were all excellent!!! The service was friendly and efficient too.
Large portions. Sooooo full!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LuluReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn D, Owner at Fatboys Southern Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thanks so much! Glad that you love our food. Hope to have you back again very soon! -Shawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2018

Went to Ottawa on a whim. What to for dinner on a Friday night? Fatboys of course. It was a hot steamy day so the patio was open and the beer was super cold.
A long story short, service was outstanding, food likewise (the dry rub smoked wings ) and they still do the bourbon society.
What made this evening special? Burlesque night. Draw your own conclusions, but it was funny, hot and classic.
Brilliant!
Would love to see you guys open a place in North Myrtle Beach. Golfers country. Burlesque every night. And ribs!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigbazz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn D, Owner at Fatboys Southern Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

So glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for the kind words. Hope to have you back for more ribs real soon! - Cheers Shawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous food. Great staff. Great large patio with lots of seating options. Great specials on Thursdays and Sundays. Met the owner Shawn; full of great life stories!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank NorthStar429636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn D, Owner at Fatboys Southern Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

You are too kind! I'm so glad you appreciate all we have to offer over here. You can't beat delicious barbeque with great company! It was great talking to you, and I can't wait to welcome you back for more good times soon.

Until next time,
Shawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

We ordered The Kentucky Derby and it was great. Way more than we could both eat. We got the food fast but we’re late with the beer. The manager came over later to apologize and compt one of the beers. Nice touch. We will be back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank AlgonquinDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn D, Owner at Fatboys Southern Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Thanks for the love! Hope to have you back again real soon. -Shawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Came on a Tuesday night and ordered some BBQ and beers. This place is pretty expensive (I know it's bbq but $25 for a quarter rack of ribs, some chicken and cornbread?! Come ON.) Our server kat was so magnificent and kind, couldn't ask for anything more. However the girl she was working with really only seemed interested in running our food and when I asked her to bring me another dip for our pickles and another beer she half-heartedly nodded and then never told kat about it, who got it for us at soon as we asked a second time. A little disheartening that team service isn't a thing there but the food was pretty good for Ottawa BBQ and our server was great. Will likely return.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank melissahalliwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn D, Owner at Fatboys Southern Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Glad that you enjoy our spot! Sorry to hear the service was clearly not good enough, as we certainly work hard to developing our team. If you are looking for some great value may we suggest coming on a Sunday for our southern Soul Sunday Brunch from 10-2 with live entertainment. It offers an all you can eat brunch full of amazing flavours for only $21.99. We certainly Hope that you'll give us another chance to prove ourselves in the future. If you do come by feel free to ask for our GM Clint and he will arrange a smoker tour for you and your guests.
-Shawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatboys Southern Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Fatboys Southern Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing