We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fatboys Southern Smokehouse

Fatboys Southern Smokehouse
Ranked #42 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fatboys Southern Smokehouse combines southern hospitality, biker ambiance, and good 'ol fashioned, slow and low cooked BBQ. Ready for some good, home cookin'? We're waiting for you at Fatboys!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went to Fatboys with another couple on a Sunday night. Service was good and we had a pleasant waitress. Onion rings as a side, good but average. My GF and I shared the 3 meat platter as did our friends. We felt the pulled pork was the best of the bunch. Overall it was kinda average and I've been to other BBQ places in town where the serving sizes were significantly bigger. Sides were decent. The corn bread was actually quite good, the Mac and cheese was also tasty. Overall we agreed it was ok, but we're not going to rush back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrbigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    98
    40
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Special accommodations for bachelor party!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

They were very accommodating for our bachelor party. We requested to have this special food challenge, as to how many people can finish a huge plate of food in 30 minutes. They made these ridiculously good custom burgers that had over 1 pound of various meats, with sides of fries, beans, cornbread... Everything on the plate was very delicious! The chef even came out and talked to us about the challenge! Out of 8 men, only 3 were able to fully finish the meal. It was gigantic. They gave the winners some free T-shirts! It was a little on a pricy side, but in the end, it was worth it for a special request.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
731 reviews
479 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Ribs - yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was my third visit to Fatboys. The trio is the way to go if you have 3 - 4 people in your party and you want to try a couple of different things. We had double ribs and smoky chicken along with cornbread, tomato & feta and mashed potatoes with barnyard gravy. Plenty for 3 of us but we managed to save room for dessert! Nice change for supper from the usual restaurants in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Got what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

No boring corporate dinners for this group! Had some guests from China ... Didn't want to do the staid stuffed-shirt deal. I bet they don't sell deep-fried pickles and deep-fried green tomatoes in Shenzhen. They were adventurous trying a wide variety of mains and sides. Almost convinced them to eat the ribs with their fingers! All 7 of us felt we'd eat here again.
Great service, prices quite reasonable, considering Ottawa.
Why must I live 8 hours away?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GarryRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Best brisket I have ever eaten. Friendly staff and very cool environment. Everything from fried pickles, mac and cheese, fries, slaw and chicken wings was terrific. Gotta make sure to check out the sinks in the bathroom. A must stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatboys Southern Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Fatboys Southern Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing