We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home-Made, Quality Ingredients, Warm Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silk Road Kabob House - CLOSED

Silk Road Kabob House
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Persian, Afghani
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Home-Made, Quality Ingredients, Warm Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This restaurant is a fan favourite. The most tender chicken kababs, the most flavourful beef skewers, and, most important of all, the greatest home-made hummus, bread, and oriental desserts in the Ottawa area. Moreover, the prices are reasonable, and the owner and staff are kind. Decor is a humble take on a middle-eastern atmosphere, and the music suitably complements the mood. Meals range from $10-20, so is highly reasonable. Compare with steroid-infested, preservative polluted fast-food restaurants, and with most of the processed and packaged foods we eat at home, and this seems like a safe-haven for our health. I'd eat there every day if I could.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not overpriced, Basmati yes, Overall Delicious Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Contrary to what a previous reviewer has said, the food here is not overpriced. Two skewers with six large chunks of tender chicken, on a bed of slowly cooked basmati rice, along with freshly baked bread fragrant with Kalonji* seeds for $15 is not overpriced. A MacDonalds meal costs you close to $10 these days. My wife had the Shami kebabs, one beef and the other chicken. Both were fragrant, lightly spiced and also served with rice, fresh bread and a salad and cost about $16.00. Fereni a creamy dessert made with rice flour, milk, sugar and rose water was offered gratis. A bit too sweet for me though. Service by the lady whose English is much improved since we visited years ago was warm. We asked how the rice (Indian Basmati she had told us earlier) was so tender with the individual grains separate and not stuck together. She patiently explained how the rice was first soaked, then boiled and finally baked. We were glad to leave a generous tip after such a delicious meal on this Tuesday evening.
*Kalonji often referred to in North India as "onion seed" is actually the seed of the plant Nigella sativa used as a spice in Asian cooking.

We were told that there is an All you can Lunch Eat Buffet during week-days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really juicy chicken kabob !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is the best for chicken!! I have been to Silk Roads many times now and the food is constantly very good. The chicken kabobs are well marinated , cooked to perfection, very juicy, the spices are well balanced. They serve the chicken kabob with this awesome little sauce that resembles a spicy salsa... It is so good , this side tomato sauce is little spicy and garlicky, I dip my chicken in it, it is fantastic ! This plate is also served with lots of rice and salad , accompanied with homemade bread. A must try restaurant !! Inexpensive too! The place is clean. Easy to find and ample parking space. Will visit again for sure !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micheline007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not sure what the buzz is about...?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had the Silk Kabob, which is around $20. The beef was chewy and didn't taste very fresh (the beef was probably a few days old before cooking it). The plates mostly consist of white rice and lettuce. They don't use basmati rice, which was disappointing. The plate was definitely overpriced. My friend ordered a chicken breast kabob plate. The chicken was juicy and tasted good. Again though, it is mostly rice and lettuce. My friend also found a few fibers in her rice (blue and yellow ones from clothing). Not very sanitary. There were also little brownish crumbs in our water; the cups weren't cleaned well. The lighting is dark so many people probably haven't taken a good look at what their eating.

Positives: The Mast-o-Khyar was delicious. The middle eastern version of tzatziki. I find the ME makes it better, you could eat it by the spoonfuls.
The server was also very friendly and we received our food quickly.

However, overall, we would not return to this restaurant. No quality in the quantity for the money that you pay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Talon300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really good kabobs without a doubt but the price is a tad bit high for what you get. The rice portion is ample, sometimes I feel like they throw in way to much just to compensate the price. Also very little lamb chops ( only 3 piece ) in the platter. Other than that the place is great and the people there are fabulous. I visit the place in Vanier.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk Road Kabob House also viewed

Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing