We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
Review of Shawarma Palace

Shawarma Palace
Ranked #64 of 2,738 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This was the first time i had Shawarma and this was one of the best food i had in Ottawa.. Very good place to have a huge food for a minimal price...

Helpful?
Thank Srikanth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    50
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Shawarma...just how it should be!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I've had shawarma from the very authentic places outside Canada. So being fond of Lebanese food, myself and my husband thought of trying out this place, on our recent visit to Ottawa. I have to admit that their food is delicious, freshly prepared and authentic. The chicken is soft and succulent, just how it's supposed to be. Loved their garlic sauce, hummus and kebabs as well. Much better than any shawarma place in Ottawa that we tried. Very friendly staff and definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Shawarma in Ottawa”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This joint is always filled with Lebanese, some caucasians, and Ottawa police (not there in the line of duty.....simply food). Having tried many restaurants the same, we keep coming back. What makes a differnce.......the garlic sauce, hummus, chicken which is not dry, ample portions, and friendly staff. Remember to give a tip at the cash for the guys serving.......

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandmanpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turned off by improper food handling”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The food here is OK, but here's what I've seen over several visits that are completely unacceptable:
- The servers touching everything with their hands/dirty gloves. Servers have one glove on one hand that looks like it's been re-used for several days.
- Using rags that look dirtier than the floor to wipe off the food prep area
- General disorganization leads to improperly prepared food. I have to remind them to take the food off the grill, and end up getting burnt food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shawarma combo plate”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The plate started out ok the chicken and beef were piled on thick.Server very pleasing on extras .sat down.Chicken was dry so I asked for franks hot sauce and lemon oil.That did the trick. The beef excellent.I would say average for the price.good place to eat no real issues here thankyou

Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shawarma Palace also viewed

 

Been to Shawarma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing