We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Shawarma!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shawarma Palace

Shawarma Palace
Ranked #60 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Shawarma!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Seriously, go here. We have been going for years and love it! My husband only gets me take out from here - I refuse to eat at any other shawarma place in Ottawa! This is the best shawarma place! Excellent service, nice atmosphere, great selection of drinks, and great value! If you like chicken or beef shawarma of any kind, you will love this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    50
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best shawarma ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This place has by far the best shawarma and garlic potatoes ever. I'm in Vietnam right now and had garlic potatoes last night at a great restaurant and was reminded of my days of dining at the palace when I used to live in Ottawa.

Both the beef and chicken shawarmas are delicious and the best I have ever had in my many visits to numerous shawarma joints. Get the platter - it's massive and mouth- watering delicious. If you're watching the carbs, they will give you more salad instead of rice. Eat the carbs in the potatoes though - trust me!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NainTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome mixed plate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Visited the Bank and Hunt Club location a few times over the past year. Food is excellent quality and the quantity is enough to satisfy even the largest appetites. This place know Shawarma! If you like Amir's or Kojak's, you will love Shawarma Palace.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonMontrealCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Shawarma in town... maybe even in Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

There is no other place in Ottawa one should go for Shawarma. This place has the highest quality Shawarma you will be able to find.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanPoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport CT
Level Contributor
157 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Super Duper Takeout!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were ravenous after a long day of sightseeing and THIS IS THE PLACE!!!!! Baklava was crunchy yet honey-softened, and there were 8 of us and we were sure we didn't order enough and yet we had leftovers and couldn't finish everything... chicken was outstanding as was the garlic yoghurt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shawarma Palace also viewed

 

Been to Shawarma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing