We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bus to and from the hockey game.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lunenburg Pub & Bar - CLOSED

Lunenburg Pub & Bar
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kingston Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A bus to and from the hockey game.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were in Ottawa for the Leafs and Sens game playing Saturday the 20th. We ate at the Lunenburg Friday night and the service and food was very good. We also found out the bar had rented two buses to take the patrons to the Saturday night hockey game. The cost was $5 per person. We met at the bar and hockey fever was running high mostly Leaf fans. Off to the game we went, game was over, on the bus and returned to the Lunenburg.

Great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skiforfun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, low key pub - solo traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Lunenburg was a block away from the hotel I stayed at while visiting Ottawa alone to look at schools. I stopped by randomly for some supper one Friday night with a book. It seemed to cater to a lot of large groups (teams and groups of friends, looked like), but visiting alone was fine too! My server was nice, the food was fine (the fries were particularly tasty, the chicken fingers and Caesar drink were average), and the price was fair for a tourist area. There was a $9.99 fish and chips special that night, and my chicken tenders were around $12 on the menu, which is comparable to other restaurants of the same type.

The atmosphere is VERY casual - exposed floors, kind of drafty, so no need to dress up or anything! Looks like a great place to grab a drink with a friend, watch a game, or just have a bite to eat.

I'm only giving it a 3/5 for atmosphere, as it was weirdly drafty, and where I was sitting (beside the ATM, too - boo!) it smelled like cigarette smoke, but that was likely just the previous customer rather than the restaurant's fault.

Overall, a regular pub experience - I don't think you can go wrong with this one if you like pubs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Lunenburg Pub & Bar was fantastic! The wait staff was very quick to serve us, the food was amazing, and the atmosphere was wonderful. I had the Lunenburger and split on an appetizer of deep friend pepperoni. I had so much food I thought I was going to burst. It was definitely a fantastic dining experience and started my trip to Ottawa off on the right foot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Lunenburg Pub and bar is beautiful and an amazing older building in downtown Ottawa.

The top floor is beautiful and rustic I love the large anchor and the atmosphere. Be aware that this changes into a club after 10:30 pm on the weekends.

The basement seating area and sports bar is very cozy and the colors are matching the Bluenose! I loved the food and the service. So many friendly bar staff!

I would recommend for couples, travelers and friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food great drinks great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food here is awesome, although being expensive. It turns into a club and has a dance floor on the weekends and is very fun! RIght near campus so many university students go there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GissouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunenburg Pub & Bar also viewed

 
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing