We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek food ever........”

The Greek Souvlaki Shack
Ranked #109 of 2,738 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Montreal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Greek food ever........”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went to this restaurant after finding it online. It is hands down the best Greek food in Ottawa. The stalk is excellent, the food is super tasty and the plates are huge. I will definitely be going back to the souvlaki chef when I'm in the area.. Loved this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    31
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service, and delicious food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We came here with high hopes but some trepidation, as it was going to be the first Greek food experience for our two boys, ages 9 and 5. They can both be picky, and are very reticent to try new things. Our server was unbelievably helpful, going out of her way to make sure we all had a wonderful meal, and her recommendations were spot-on. The quality of the food was outstanding, and the effort that went into its preparation was obvious. Portions were generous. We had a sampling of a number of different items, and everything was delicious. This was not just Greek food, this was authentic Greek cuisine. Due to the fairly small seating area, I encourage diners to make reservations. We came without them, and were very fortunate to get a table for four. The prices were quite reasonable, and the food, atmosphere, and service were excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little resto”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Very fast service, staff were polite and friendly. The food was very good and the portions were awesome for the price.

Definitely recommend dropping in!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktandomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been to the Souvlaki Shack three times and it has been consistently excellent. Very friendly family feel to the place. Prices could be much higher given the quality of the food and size of the portions. It's now our go to Greek restaurant. Good luck to this young business.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeroak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic service!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Whether you're an Ottawa resident or a visitor from out of town, you MUST try this place - you'll be hooked! The place itself is not huge, but that is part of its charm. The ingredients used here are fresh, and while some of the dishes may be very traditional, they are by no means standard. Their deep fried calamari is ridiculously good - a definite must-try! Their specials are also fantastic (we've tried their lemon and chicken soup, fried haddock and an incrediblly tasty braised beef on rice dish that makes my mouth water every time I think about it). My friend and I have become regulars here, but have been greeted with tremendous warmth and welcoming from day one. To top it all off, the prices are very reasonable. Dinner for two (2 sizeable appetizers, 4 huge skewers of very well-cooked meat, and a fantastic special rarely costs more than $35 before tip between two people). It has quickly become my favourite restaurant in the city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Souvlaki Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Greek Souvlaki Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing