We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rideau Canal - Ottowa” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paul's Boat Lines

Paul's Boat Lines
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Washington DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rideau Canal - Ottowa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I took the Rideau Canal tour early September. The staff were very friendly but there really is not much to see. Commentary is only provided for the first half of the tour. If you feel you should take the tour then sit on the right hand side of the boat as all the commentary is directed to that side.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aussie0i0i0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    15
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virgil, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxing cruise on Rideau Canal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

A very nice relaxing 1hr+ cruise along the Rideau Canal! The guide was very knowledgeable and funny highlighting various significant buildings on the trip to Dows lake & back. Great way to relax sit and site-see for the adults and you get to learn a few things too. Not so great for young kids. Daughter was bored shortly after departing, however she did enjoy sitting and the gentle breeze and the sun on her back while playing games on the Ipod Touch. She did look up on occasion.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“River trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We did the river trip to see more of the area. Trip cost CAD$20 and left from the bottom of the Rideau Locks on the canal, and last's about an hour and a half. We went mostly on the Ottawa river and a small bit of the Gatineau. Was nice to sit down and hear a commentry of the area, done in both English and French. Would recommend if you doing this trip that you sit on the right hand side of the boat as it faces forward. The commentry is constantly pointing out things to the right of the boat, can go across for photo's but would be awkward if boat full.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank almya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Much There”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The family took the Rideau tour only, not the Ottawa River.

The staff was friendly and the tour guide was running through his very prepared script (including the jokes) as we went down the canal. Not much too see except an old stadium, some newer buildings, including the most expensive condo in Ottawa, a building where no 2 apartments layouts are the same and other buildings most people wouldn't be to excited about.

There was a brief history of the creation of the canal. Overall i didn't feel like i got much out of this 1.5 hours of a boat ride.

The tour was very competitively priced as compared to other providers so at least i didn't feel like i just got ripped off but it wasn't much fun and i learned very little. I think the Ottawa river tour might have more to offer since you can see more buildings from the river? I don't know.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bangemsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Waste of time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very deceiving boat ride! Instead of giving detailed historical comments on the canal and the city, we learn about how much a condo is worth on the Rideau Canal and other useless information. The tour guide would acknowledge that his favourite part of the canal ride is where he had nothing to say. I strongly suggest that you read a good travel guide instead, and then rent a bicycle to ride along the canal, on the bike path to Dow Lake from the Chateau Laurier.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank smallplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul's Boat Lines also viewed

 

Been to Paul's Boat Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing