We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some drinks are watered down”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Zoe's Lounge

Zoe's Lounge
Ranked #161 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $105
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fairmont Château Laurier's lounge was named after Sir Wilfrid Laurier's beloved wife. Zoé Laurier Lafontaine was a young piano teacher known for her kindness, simplicity and most of all her big heart. She would have been proud to visit her namesake, which is now Ottawa's most stylish and elegant lounge with its chic decor, glowing chandeliers, and a beautiful glass adorned atrium. Zoé's Lounge features live entertainment and is famous for its light fare menu, freshly prepared vintage cocktails and its wonderful Afternoon Tea.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some drinks are watered down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just spent a weekend in Ottawa with friends. Stopped in at Zoe's for a mid afternoon drink. It was a chance to get out of the heat, sit for a bit, relax and have a chat. Three of us ordered Mojito's. They were the worst mojitos all of us had ever had. They tasted like soda water. We mentioned to the waitress that we didn't believe that they actually had any alcohol in them at all. Generally you can taste and smell the rum. She came over with extra shots of rum, poured them in and guess what - the drink ended up now tasting like diluted soda water. Not blaming the waitress but someone needs to take a hard look at the bar offerings!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneK697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    82
    38
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
229 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went for afternoon tea on a weekday for our anniversary. It was lovely - peaceful, delicious, and great service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OttawaShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's Lounge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We agree, Afternoon Tea in Ottawa’s Castle is truly a memorable experience!

Thank you for sharing your comments with others.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Afternoon and princess tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I went to the High Tea at Chateau Laurier with my 2 daughters and a niece. We had a very good time. I loved the fact that the girls (aged 4 and 6) were welcomed. The view, by the hotel's window overlooking the canal and Grand Central station was great. Service was excellent and attentive.

The best part was the tea service. I don't really know how to call it, but a gentlemen with his assortment of teas was coming around table to table and advising us on tea type and choice before preparing what we had chosen. He had a huge old fashion tea cart. He then came around to offer more water. He was also great with the kids and at chatting up with the adults. The small girls were offered hot chocolate and whipped cream.

Because high-noon tea is something we quite enjoy, we found that the actual 'food' lacked variety and distinctive taste. It was quite bland although the menu made it sound delicious. My oldest daughter and I each had a different kind of food tray and it almost tasted the same. It wasn't bad - it just wasn't great. The scones were excellent and moist though.

So overall, loved the experience (hence the very good) but would need to sample more Chateau Laurier to see how the food normally taste.

Would do it again for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zaz936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's Lounge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am delighted that the experience was everything you were looking for.

Rest assured that I have passed along your notes regarding to the food to our Executive Chef.

Once again, thank you for your time.

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The charcuterie plate is a Build Your Own thing which was fun. The server was attentive but not intrusive. Nice atmosphere too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's Lounge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Geoffrey,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and service in Zoe’s Lounge. I hope that you will be back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Slow to notice you, but very good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Make sure the staff see you arrive, otherwise there's a chance you will wait. However, once you order, the food comes quickly and it is quite tasty. The French Onion Soup was one of the best I've had.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fairwaymob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Zoe's Lounge, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We take your comments very seriously and we are reviewing these with the colleague and management team. I hope that you received our direct email to you after your direct communication to me.

Regards,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoe's Lounge also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Zoe's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing