We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to catch up with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Must Kitchen & Wine Bar

Must Kitchen & Wine Bar
Ranked #266 of 2,709 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice place to catch up with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Recently ate dinner here with a friend. Waitress was very attentive to our needs and when she saw we wanted to just have a cozy catch up after dinner, she just let us be. As it was a week night, things were quiet. They offer a main meal portion and also small plates. The duck confit risotto (small plate) was ample for me with a salad. My friend had steak tartare that she said was "fine". She's more a food connoisseur than I, so that says it. Also the risotte. A little later she ordered another small plate. Waitress was well versed in wines - as to be expected with a wine bar, but when the conversation went to the diesel taste of wine, my eyes glazed over. However, as I couldn't decide between two whites, she came back with a sampling of both for me to decide.
It is housed in one of the heritage buildings in the Byward Market so it is narrow. There is limited seating on the main floor and we had the one small table in the window. I enjoyed it, but if it was summer with the large floor to ceiling windows open, it might be awkward as the sidewalk is right there. I can imagine some of the local panhandlers trying to get a handout. The washrooms and main dining area is up a set of steep stairs on the second floor. Comfortable looking, but not for those with mobility issues. Also, there was a smell of "plumbing" in the hallway leading to the toilets. It was at the head of the stairs and if it wafted to the back tables, that would be a "no return" vote for me.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quiltingmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    32
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orangegummy1
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had steak frites and the pork shoulder. Both were very delicious. The chef was able to cook the steak to well done without making it dry - sounds like something that a chef should be able to do, but we have been to several Ottawa steak houses that failed to do that (and Must is not even a steakhouse). For dessert, we had the cheesecake and the chocolate platter. They were also delicious. Our server was great. On Sundays, you can bring you own wine for only $5 corking fee. Overall, a pleasant experience and I would go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orangegummy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A charming place in Ottawa's market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Ate here on a Monday night, restaurant was not busy but most tables were full upstairs, the downstairs was not open for seating. We were shown to our seats and given menus and told about the specials. It was some time prior to the waitress coming back but we didn't mind. Drink and dinner orders were taken. It took a while for the appies to come, the flatbreads are amazing. The chirzo meatballs were good. Main course was also good and the portion size was large (we each took some home). The desert was good (we shared). Beers are fairly priced wines were a bit overpriced. No troubles going back again. Worth the visit. Sunday's is bring your own wine with a $5.00 corkage (check to see if they are still running that if you are going in the summer). One note is they did not bring any bread to the table which was ok I guess since the portions are quite large.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank get_with_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The mission fig appetizer was delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the third time we've been to Must and the quality of the food is always excellent. We tried the mission figs appetizer and loved them! The soft warm figs, goat cheese, cerrano ham, walnut bits, and balsamic reduction were just to die for. The duck confit was excellent, as were the mussels in green cury with fries. This restaurant has never let us down.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patofiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another awesome night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was our second viist to MUST and it was as good as the first! The service was attentive but not overwhelming - the food was great - and the wine list super! We have recommended this restaurant to friends in the area and would expect that this intimate gathering place will become a regular on the "go to" list! My favorite is the main floor window seat next to the fireplace:)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kizmetCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Must Kitchen & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Must Kitchen & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing