We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under construction”

Canada Science and Technology Museum
Ranked #40 of 255 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada’s largest science and technology museum is a great hands-on experience for visitors of all ages. Discover some of the most important scientific and technological objects in Canada.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Under construction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a great museum to visit but when we were here recently some of our fave sections were cordoned off due to construction. Parking was free though and admission was reduced too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PickyMomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    69
    45
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been many many times to this museum and it's great! It's close to downtown Ottawa, as well as a major shopiing centre, and lots of restaurants near by for post museum food. They have a variety of displays and fun educational movies for all ages. The science shows are very cool also! I recommend it for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great experience for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went early on a Saturday with the family, and the kids all had a great time. The prices are very reasonable ($30 for two adults and three kids), but the fee for the interactive rides is separate ($3 for one ride, $5 for two).

The museum has displays on money making, trains, Canadian inventions, space, etc. The rides are also great; pretty much like a roller coaster simulator where the car moves in sync with the movie), but set in space. We took the Mission To Mars ride and although short (15mins), it was great.

The only thing to note is that even though they sell the two rides for $5 instead of $6 (since it's $3 for one), they are set too far apart (9:30 and then sometime after 13:00). You won't be able to catch both unless you're staying for a good part of the day, and you can cover the whole museum in about 2-3 hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCatriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit When It ISN'T Busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Apparently this museum is typically closed on Mondays, but was opened on Remembrance Day this year. We headed there in the afternoon and there were literally 15 cars in the parking lot. We basically had the whole museum to ourselves and by 4:30 there were maybe 5 families left! Our 4 year old and 9 year old enjoyed the interactive displays, did learn some interesting things, and had fun travelling through the "wireless/wired" maze several times. The grown ups (ahem) enjoyed learning about the things that were invented by Canadians, the Crazy Kitchen, and especially the train display. Holy heck were those steam driven trains huge. They have to be seen in person to understand the scope and majesty!

As long time patrons of the Ontario Science Center in Toronto, I can see how people could complain about the size and crowded nature of this museum. As we had it all to ourselves, we had a fantastic time....however, I can see how a busy day there would be less fun. Oh well, I guess the kids can learn patience and courtesy along with science and technology!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank akoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This museum is large and very well organised. Many interactive displays, which is great for kids. Lots of parking. We especially enjoyed the crooked kitchen!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dazeydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada Science and Technology Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canada Science and Technology Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing