We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant Fathers Day lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Cafe

Le Cafe
Ranked #484 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Canadian contemporary cuisine The National Arts Centre's le cafe is proud to showcase the fresh flavors and ingredients of Canada. Focusing on local seasonal ingredients, le cafe's menu is a culinary experience that indulges the senses. Experience our take on contemporary cuisine with dishes that will delight and engage you. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, le cafe has an offering that is perfect for the occasion: sharing a sumptuous meal during a corporate lunch, enjoying dinner before the show, or joining us after an evening performance for a sip of port and chocolate. Open Sunday through Saturday, we invite you to join us for an exceptional dining experience.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A pleasant Fathers Day lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went on a Sunday. The choice of dishes from the all-you-can-eat buffet was very wide, well cooked and tasty; omelettes were cooked in front of you to your specification and the puddings and pastries were delicious. I have no idea of the cost as, for once, I did not pay. I did offer but my son insisted on paying, very kind of him but it only happens once a year! The majority of the diners were university students and their proud parents celebrating their children's graduation.
The decor and lighting needs improving however the view from the windows of the Rideau Canal, boats, joggers etc etc is pleasant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Auxiliary7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    24
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for the location ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately after a much anticipated date night we were thoroughly disappointed. The location on the canal is beautiful. Beyond that we were sadly disappointed. We both were eager for surf and turf. Both plates arrived cold with no butter even at a minimum for the lobster. One steak was sadly full of fat and the lobster tail was stone cold. Potatoes were good. My husbands was blue although ordered medium well - when returned after reheat it was now a strip poor steak vs the nice thick cut before indicating it was under done.


Was looking forward to a nice date night on the canal, left feeling disappointed and wondering what could have been.


Helpful?
5 Thank devils67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great outdoor lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Le cafe is located directly on Rideau Canal and when the weather is nice they have a really nice covered outside terrace from which you can see all the boats come by. Food was great and staff very attentive

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dutchtraveller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“View is better than the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a Friday lunch on the Le Café terrace overlooking the Rideau Canal, boats and the Convention Centre. Did not need a reservation. Even though this is tourist season in Ottawa there were a number of empty tables. Did not appear to be any business people lunching there either. Had the minestrone soup which was tasty and tomato-y. The complementary whole wheat bread was moist with an all-natural (but salty) taste and crunchy crust. Chose a main course of the BC salmon with maple/ginger glaze ($19) but the cooked fish was bland and not warm. It was served over angel-hair pasta and sautéed peppers, mushrooms, celery and rhubarb. The tangy rhubarb was an interesting offset to the sweet glaze. Finished with coffee and chocolate-orange crunch which was very good. But the service was beyond slow, or relaxed, or slack, or whatever you want to call it. There were only two waiters and since the place was not busy they could have provided prompt service unless the slow-down was in the kitchen. Took an elevator from the Elgin Street NAC entrance down to the lower level then trekked through a dim, twisting corridor past the parking garage to get to Le Café. There are five steps down to the restaurant and another two steps down onto the terrace. The steps are either dark concrete or covered in dark carpet and not illuminated or outlined with contrast edging. Watch your step.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank xygb7dklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

What a disappointment !!

Last Friday evening did not appear to be that busy so that be any any excuse for what was anything but an acceptable experience.

I started with a Cesare salad. The lettuce was not fresh: indeed the lettuce was soggy and some edges had some 'brown'. I ordered steak and asked for the same to be prepared 'blue'. When the plate arrived, even though the presentation was interesting, the meat was overcooked. I had as the asked for 'fries' and that same be cooked 'brown' and it this was not done. When the waiter finally came to inquire while he offered to either replace the meat, or offer a 'gratis' dessert, that did not address issue.

The other meal was fowl and like mine it was poorly prepared. One piece was undercooked, while the other was over-cooked.

The service was spotty. We had to ask that our water glasses be refilled more than once.

Thank goodness the performance upstairs with Jack Everly was specatualr

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Le Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing