We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's day Brunch”
Review of Le Cafe

Le Cafe
Ranked #474 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Canadian contemporary cuisine The National Arts Centre's le cafe is proud to showcase the fresh flavors and ingredients of Canada. Focusing on local seasonal ingredients, le cafe's menu is a culinary experience that indulges the senses. Experience our take on contemporary cuisine with dishes that will delight and engage you. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, le cafe has an offering that is perfect for the occasion: sharing a sumptuous meal during a corporate lunch, enjoying dinner before the show, or joining us after an evening performance for a sip of port and chocolate. Open Sunday through Saturday, we invite you to join us for an exceptional dining experience.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Mother's day Brunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We came here for mother's day brunch yesterday. I reserved a few weeks ahead. What was really frustrating was that although I had reserved well ahead it did not reserve you a table, just a time to eat. As a result we were only offered a table up in the
"lounge" which is a up 6 steps away from the buffet or outside (which was absolutely freezing! 10 Celsius). We refused to eat outside and expressed our dissatisfaction about the seating. Finally we obliged to sit in the lounge area (although it would have been nice to be told when I reserved, to bring a coat, or that we would need to climb stairs). If you are with elderly persons or those with disabilities, this restaurant is definitely NOT accessible friendly!
Despite all this we were offered a discount, some waitresses even offered to carry our food plates up the stairs for us and the "lounge" turned out to be quite intimate and spacious/relaxing. We were even offered to move 1/3 of the way into our meal and declined.
So service turned out to be great.
The buffet was nice as well: omelette station, carved prime rib, clam chowder, salad bar, seared tuna and smoked salmon, pancakes, bacon, sausage, a chicken dish, potatoes au gratin, a pasta dish and a wonderful selection of desserts, pastries, croissant...(mini crème brulee, chocolate mousses, pecan pie, meringue cookies, baklava...). This was just a sampling. We had come here for easter brunch last year and that is what made us come back. So even though it was a rocky start, it is tops for a higher end buffet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merbear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    48
    24
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We (4) went there before a concert at the National Art Centre (NAC) and for the price, were quite disappointed. Prices are high, food is ordinary. My wife specifically ordered her filet rare and it arrived medium well. The waiter who was very efficient, took the filet back for another one which was medium. Still not rare. They did not charge for her filet which we did not expect and appreciated.

For the price, my Caesar salad was bland and a bit soggy. I expected my beef filet to be exceptional and was disappointed.

Co-incidently, this restaurant was reviewed in our local newspaper (Ottawa citizen) the day after we were there and I think they were quite accurate in their review.

In a nutshell, Le Cafe have a captive audience who go to a concert or a play and in my opinion, it seems they think quality/price is not so important.

Many restaurants near the NAC to choose from.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jphupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice Room, View and Food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I went to le Cafe with a large group so we had a set group menu. Having eaten here before i knew that I would not be disappointed in the room, view or service but wondered if the food was still of good quality. While the choices on the group menu were rather small, the serving size and flavours were rather large. The service was excellent as usual and while I did not see the regular menu, I imagine that Le cafe is a fine choice when attending a production at the National Arts Center above the restaurant. Lunches or early evening dinners during the summer would be wonderful due to the location right on the Rideau Canal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JESVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Should be a cut above the rest but lacking in originality”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were there for dinner. The food was good but lacking in originality (the descriptions on the menu made the dish sound more elaborate than what was actually served). This restaurant was once hailed as one of the best in the area, but Ottawa has many new Bistros now that rival and surpass this one (food and price wise).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole17Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Food, too expensive and menu needs revamped.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went has a family to have brunch, problem with stairs again, Le Cafe was very cold the day we were there. The food was laid out on tables and you went from table to table to pick what you wanted. I would not very fond, but the food was passable. They are not trying to vow the population, the food and service has no grand style. It's tired and needs a new menu from the BBQ in the summer to their dinners and anything in between, too expensive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank axxiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Le Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing