We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was slow”
Review of Friday's Roast Beef House - CLOSED

Friday's Roast Beef House
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Service was slow”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were a small group (14). Things started off pretty well but, after drinks were ordered and received, it took a long time before our orders were taken. Very slow to put out the bread. Food was well presented and everyone was served at the same time, but it was not hot. Roast potatoes were overdone. I don't count a form of coleslaw as vegetables.
Slow to provide and settle bills, as well.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank excobra_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We were a group of four and two in our group had not been there since they moved to Somerset Street from Elgin Street. (The other two had never been to the restaurant.)

The onion soup had absolutely no flavour and the cheese did not have much taste either so it was sent back. The waitress said we would not be charged for it. Considering it cost about $9.00 it should have had some taste. One person had the lobster tails (about $38.00 for 2 tails) and they were quite small. The garlic mashed potatoes were barely warm and no garlic taste was found. The little matchstick veggies were pretty but not up to par for a plate that cost that much.

Two in the group had roast beef that they liked. The yorkshire pudding was undercooked and mushy and they got the same matchstick veggies. Tnis is not a restaurant that any of us will go to again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will never return!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Nice restaurant but that is where it ends. Poor service, ignorant waitresses and the manager totally ignores you when asked to speak to him. Reservations where made, promises where made however not kept ... Very poor customer service! Will never ever go there again!
Also, tip was added to bill before bill was presented to us. I guess they have been left without tips before however I feel I should chose how much to tip for lousy service.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riclor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Service is not great!”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Friday's is an average place with poor service and ok food.
If you are looking for prime rib, The Keg is a better choice!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jameswolfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friday's Roast Beef House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing