We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent outing”

Spin Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #116 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cross street: Queen
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Open concept with two distinct sitting areas. Friendly and professional staff. Menu is different and delicious. Includes lunch specials. Portions are of a good size.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank excobra_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    66
    37
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The way it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were in Ottawa for a quick overnight stop and some major viewing at the National Gallery. By the time we returned to the Marriott we didn't feel like venturing out again into the gale that was tearing through the city that evening so we decided to eat "in".

Spin Kitchen (the hotel's restaurant) is a cavernous space off the equally vast Bar adjacent to the lobby. Food is served in the bar and as I walked through on my way to the restaurant I got the feeling that the bar would be the casual area and that once I rounded the corner into Spin I might find a bit more sophistication, perhaps table cloths, fresh bread basket, nicely set tables with sparkling chrystal.

No. Instead, the tables were very much the same as those in the Bar, there was yet another wall mounted TV and the only clue that this wasn't just the overflow area for the bar was that there was a long narrow slot that allowed a view of the kitchen cook's heads.

The menu was mainly bar food with only a limited number of items that might pass for full meals. The service was friendly and more or less competent. I say more or less because we ordered drinks, expecting to relax before food arrived. As it turned out our choice was to finish our drinks while our food cooled on the table or drink them with our food.

We ate soup and a burger which my wife pronounced "good" and I had Caesar salad and crab cakes, which were quite good.

It felt the way hotel restaurants used to feel. A place where management didn't much care if you came or not but the food would keep you alive until you could find something better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank torontotraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food was just ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

stayed 2 nights the pizza was ok but the nachos were awful and and very disappointing not really what was described on the menu and lacked everything but dryed out chips, overpriced for what you get, look else where

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sws24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go outside the hotel for meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The menu's are average -- and typical of hotel food. With so many options just outside the door, why pay the high price for this restaurant. The bar area was hopping, so they're doing something right!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heartsinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“One Time Only Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were a party of three and I wasn't impressed by any of the meals served for lunch. One of the ordered was wrong as my colleague asked for fish taco's not fish and chips. Due to time constraints (work lunch) the error could not be fixed. The waiter did not offer to adjust the bill.
My sandwich and salad was $17 which is fairly average these days however the salad was soggy (croutons too) and the plate was nothing but a sandwich and small salad. There is a limited supply of restaurants in the immediate area but I suggest you go elsewhere if time permits. Barton Rouge is across the street - just sayin'

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BangForBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spin Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Spin Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing