We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, pricy and bit of a time crunch for work lunch”

Goodness Gracious Cafe
Ranked #408 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Good food, pricy and bit of a time crunch for work lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I'm visiting the area for work and decided to eat here one weekday lunch. The menu is plentiful and the chicken, brie, and cranberry sandwich with side salad was very good. The salad particularly ranks in the top three side salads I've had while eating out. Though the meal took about 10 to 15 mins to arrive; I think this was because the dining room was busy and the chef had maybe 3 dishes to finish before he got to my order. The one hostess/waitress was very busy, running from one customer to the next. I also had the lemon meringue pie slice which is a good size for two or three servings. I have the other 2/3rds in the fridge right now that I'll finish over the next few days. The cafe is a bit pricy and popular with the retired (female) crowd. I'm in my late 20's and I was most definitely the youngest in there by about 30 years. Good for a relaxed meal, not so good if you're on your lunch break.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“the right name for it goodness gracious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

goodness gracious it was exellent.You can not have better breakfast in town its spectacular the food is to die for all the delicatessent you hope for.It's like going to your friend house and have a fabulous dejeuner. The service is very attentive and professionnal she served me a great cafe to start with but what a great one with warm milk. I had such an experience with them. Thank you chef (owner) and your fantastic waitress you make my day start wonderfully. See you soon

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Innovative food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

When you eat out a lot, finding a new fare - something original and tasty - can sometimes be hit or miss.

I was happy to find this very unassuming cafe tucked beside a flower shoppe and convenience store on Montreal Road. Open cafe hours, you have to make room in you day to stop here for lunch.

Each sandwich is filled to the brim with unique ingredients, like mango and chicken, or Brie or bacon marmalade. This, coupled with a large side salad filled with spring mix, fruits, veggies and quinoa, makes the plated food look inviting.

Their desserts are big so you best be ready to share one of their pieces of pie or other dessert.

The dining area is small, and they are slowly improving the decor so you can see they are looking to stay.

They are always busy and often best to make reservations over the lunch hour.

If you are looking to escape the hum drum restaurant chains or not venture into downtown to find parking in Byward Market, head out Montreal Rd and find your appetite satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mckinnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“my goodness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Brunch on a sunday with my son at goodness gracious. The best brunch I ever had its lovely presented and the taste in your mouth is MMMMMMMmmn.Smal place that look like a home kitchen and a few table here and there but you have to go realy its superbe.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natasha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

A mom and pop affair that offers great food in a quaint atmosphere. I've had lunch and I'll be back for the Saturday brunch. Call first and make a reservation.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckygirltravels111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodness Gracious Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Goodness Gracious Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing