We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way for hockey playing kids to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Ottawa West
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here over New Years weekend while In town for the Bell Capital Cup youth hockey tournament. The only concern we had was that the wave pool water was a little on the cold side and the parking was vey limited for a full size pickup. I believe the wave pool had just been repainted cleaned and refilled and was probably the reason for being cold. As for the parking, there was a wicked snow storm a day before our arrival and snow removal was a challenge all over the city that weekend. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay, in fact just booked rooms there for a lacrosse tournament later this summer- kids are looking forward to the wave pool!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pool view with the balcony so we could watch the kids. Didn't mind the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Travelled to my old hometown of Ottawa to attend a school reunion. The hotel was well situated and the room was reasonably priced. Great hotel for family with children with its indoor water park. The room we had contained a microwave and sink/counter area which made bartending for other friends/guests a breeze. No cost parking was appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Derrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Michelle Ms C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was out of desperation that I secured a room here for two nights. I arrived in Ottawa counting on staying with a friend but it turned out she did not have internet - which I needed for a project due the next day. I googled and quickly learned the city was virtually sold out for the week as a result of many conventions, not enough rooms. What was left were a few places across the river in Gatineau or the Travelodge on Carling Ave. Assured by their website that they offered internet - free, no less - I booked what turned out the be the last room. And what a doozy it was. First and foremost, the promised internet rarely kicked in. In spite of numerous complaints to the front desk - and later to a manager, who never did return my lengthy voice mail - the internet did not work and, as a result, I was completely unable to finish my project, return urgent work-related emails, throughout my miserable stay. While understanding it was a Travelodge, I did not expect a four star hotel, but this place should literally be shut down. Dirty, dingy and dated - absolutely foul. And the icing on the cake? I was given a room I later found out is described as having "an inner pool view". What this meant is a room with no outside windows - just a horrifying view of a big, blue pool, the strong scent of chlorine wafting through my room, which was damp and humid due to the proximity of the pool. The topper was incessant music blaring all evening and the yelp and squeals of kids splashing underneath my window. Don't get me wrong. I love pools and kids having fun but a room with no outside window, music blasting and wreaking of chlorine -- with NO internet -- does not a good experience make. Before you stay here, my advise is sleep in your car ... a tent ... anything. Worst hotel experience ever. Oh. And one more kicker. Deciding to drown my sorrows in a glass of wine, I headed to the bar -- to be told that their policy is not to allow clients to bring their drinks to their room. Instead, patrons were asked to have their drink at the bar. The dark, dingy, uninspiring, dungeon of a bar.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanwOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose E, General Manager at Travelodge Ottawa West, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

I don’t believe I have heard of a worse guest experience, no wonder you wouldn't want to stay with us again, as you stated the city was sold out leaving us with minimal rooms to offer and our internet bandwidth extremely busy. I so sorry you had to have this experience, however this is not the standard we strive for, in fact I'm so confident that you will be happy with your next stay, I would like to offer you a refund for your horrible experience and extend to you a complimentary stay next time you are in Ottawa. Please contact me directly at the hotel to make arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 68 in Ottawa
579 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#40 of 68 in Ottawa
530 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
3.3 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Ottawa West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ottawa West

Address: 1376 Carling Ave | Carling and Kirkwood, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7L5, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $106 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Ottawa West 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Ottawa Hotel and Conference Centre is a CAA/AAA 3-Diamond Full Service Property. Boasting Over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, a full convention services department and exceptional customer service. We offer an Executive Club Floor with a private Executive lounge for our business travelers enjoyment. Enjoy Ottawa's largest hotel Water Park, the Wet and Wild water Park. It features a wave pool, kid s pool, slide, hot tub and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Ottawa West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel And Convention Centre
Travelodge Ottawa
Travel Lodge Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing