We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holding Charge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Ottawa West
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I realize that the hotel places a holding charge when I check in, but I feel that this charge should be removed from my credit card immediately after payment of my bill. I did not realize this and its now 3 days after I stayed there and i still cannot use mt credit card because this extra charge over and above my hotel bill is still locked in.
What would have happened if i had continued my trip and had to use this credit card for an emergency, or needed gas on the way home. I use this card for this type of trip only and only have a low credit limit on it

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank STANLEY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,981 - 1,987 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have been to this hotel on numerous occassions and even recommended this hotel to my wives parents who also booked a room for the same date, However I have never been treated the way I have on this occasion by the hotel clerk. This will be the last time we stay at this hotel or recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We found the room not clean and in fact found a pair of thong underwear on the floor! As well extremely loud music was played by the pool for over 3 hours each evening and as we were given a room bythe pool (274) the sound reverberated around like an echo chamber-we won`t, of course, be repeating or recommending this experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank GAVIN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the time we entered the hotel, the staff was accomodating and gave us advice to make our stay more enjoyable. The room was clean and close to the pool. The balcony allowed us a wonderful view of the pool and a little bit of space out of the room its self. We stayed at the travellodge as we werewanting to use the pool, hot tub and slide. Other pools in the area, limit the height for sliders. Our son was glad to know that he was not one inch to short to go on the slide. The pool staff were amazing as they ensure the youth were safe while they were in the pool area. The housekeeper was professional and did a great job refreshing the room. The only inconvenience was the fire alarm at five am, but it was better to have a fire alarm go off than if it didn't and something happened. Kudo's the next day for fire alarm testing during the day! Upon answering questions below, if there was a continental breakfast provided for guests at the hotel, we were not aware of it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My clients visit included a 5am fire alarm/evacuation, spotty internet throughout all 3 days despite hotel staff's attempts to fix the situation, and a very weak hotel restaurant in terms speed of service. My client has requested that we not book him in this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Internet was uninterupted in my room one day. They say it is a new provider and they are working with them on the problem. Let's hope so. The one meal I ate at the hotel was mediocre at best - but more interesting was the fact that one waitress acted as hostess, waitress, buss-person, bartender and cashier for a constant 15 - 20 guests. To her credit, she always smiled and did a great job, all things considered. (Be patient). Not a good way to run a hotel though.the hotel staff were all pleasant and helpful. The room was adequate and clean; nothing special though. It was near the office whe I had business, but not near much else. My advice is: pick your Ottawa hotel carefully. (can't fault them for the 5 AM (false) fire alarm.)
Forget the breakfast. It costs $10.00 and I have had better for free at other hotels. Buffet with institutional scrambled eggs and a few other items - very few.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is not far from the downtown, we could drive there in 15-20 minutes. The parking is free , and there is free wifi as well.
The room was spacious, and clean. The front desk staff was helpful, the early check in was possible without fees.
It was a good hotel with good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are not interested in the pool, ask room not facing to the pool area (it could be very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 68 in Ottawa
579 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#40 of 68 in Ottawa
530 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
3.3 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Ottawa West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ottawa West

Address: 1376 Carling Ave | Carling and Kirkwood, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7L5, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: $106 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Ottawa West 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Ottawa Hotel and Conference Centre is a CAA/AAA 3-Diamond Full Service Property. Boasting Over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, a full convention services department and exceptional customer service. We offer an Executive Club Floor with a private Executive lounge for our business travelers enjoyment. Enjoy Ottawa's largest hotel Water Park, the Wet and Wild water Park. It features a wave pool, kid s pool, slide, hot tub and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Ottawa West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel And Convention Centre
Travelodge Ottawa
Travel Lodge Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing